12 of 17 congressmen join Mamata Banerjee’s TMC in Meghalaya: Reports


In a blow to the Meghalaya Congress, up to 12 of its 17 state deputies have joined the Trinamool Congress, according to sources.

“12 of the 17 congressmen from Meghalaya joined the Trinamool congress,” Trinamool congress sources say.

The head of the Meghalaya party, Manish Chatrath, will be able to visit the Meghalaya on Thursday. Sources have informed that Chatrath canceled his visit to Gujarat tomorrow.

“Manish Chatrath postponed tomorrow’s visit to Surat in Gujarat, where he was to attend the first anniversary of the death of Congress President Ahmed Patel,” sources said.

According to congressional sources, Chatrath will soon deliver a full report to the party’s acting president, Sonia Gandhi.

Notably, Congress Secretary General KC Venugopal held a meeting on November 18 at the AICC headquarters in New Delhi, attended by Manish Chatrath to assess the party’s performance in the recently concluded side ballots in Meghalaya.

ALSO READ  Demonstration of farmers, next polls: what was discussed at the national executive of the BJP

The meeting was also joined by other state party leaders including MPCC chairman Vincent H Pala, CLP leader Mukul Sangma, MPCC labor chairman Mr. Arnpareen Lyngdoh, secretary in charge. from AICC, Manipur Charles Pyngrope, MPCC working chairs, Marthon Sangma and James Lyngdoh.

The ruling Meghalaya party, the National People’s Party (NPP) won the Assembly seats from Rajabala and Mawryngkneng while the United Democratic Party (UDP) won the Mawphlang Assembly seat in the indirect ballots which took place on October 30.

TMC has seen a steady stream of leaders join its ranks after stepping down from Congress in recent months.

In September, former Goan chief minister Luizinho Faleiro joined TMC after resigning from a majority of congressmen. After Faleiro’s change, nine other congressional leaders also joined TMC, sources said.

ALSO READ  Cracks in opposition unit as Trinamool stays away from joint meeting

Congressman from Silchar of Assam and former President of Congress All India Mahila, Sushmita Dev joined the TMC in August this year. She was assigned to take care of TMC business in Tripura.

Additionally, Luizinho Faleiro and Sushmita Dev both secured seats at Rajya Sabha after joining TMC.

Ahead of the 2022 Goa assembly elections, North Goa Congressman Seva Dal Ulhas Vaskar and Shiv Sena Block (Ponda) Chairman Vinod Borkar joined the TMC on October 21.

Congress leader Kirti Azad and former Haryana Congress President Ashok Tanwar also recently joined TMC. Tanwar was once a close associate of Rahul Gandhi.

Two top Congress leaders from Uttar Pradesh joined TMC in October, including Rajeshpati Tripathi and Lalitpati Tripathi.

ALSO READ  Putin says he hasn't decided if he will run for president in 2024

Rajeshpati is an ex-MLC and Laliteshpati is the former vice president of the Congress of Uttar Pradesh and an ex-MLA. Rajeshpati and Laliteshpati are the grandson and great-grandson of the former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Kamalapati Tripathi, respectively.

Banerjee visited Delhi in July this year. It was his first visit after Trinamool’s Congress returned to power in the Bengal Assembly polls. During his visit, he had met Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi among other leaders.

To subscribe to TBEN newsletters

* Enter a valid email address

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with TBEN. Download our app now !!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here