Another day, another comeback for Evans / Skupski


Daniel Evans and Neal Skupski stayed on track to reach their second straight ATP Masters 1000 final on Friday at the Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters.

The Brits, who reached the Miami Open presented by Itau earlier this month, were two points away from the 5/5 second-set tie-break loss, but they kept their cool to complete a 1-6, 7-6 (5), 10-4 win over Raven Klaasen and Ben McLachlan.

It’s not the first time this week that Evans and Skupski have escaped danger. The pair have managed tiebreaks in all three of their matches this week, saving three match points in their second round victory over Ivan Dodig and Filip Polasek on Thursday.

ALSO READ  Rafael Nadal's candidacy for the 12th Monte Carlo title ended with Andrey Rublev in the quarter-finals | Tennis News

Evans and Skupski will meet top seeds Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah for a place in the final. The Colombians closed Friday’s game with a 7-6 (5), 7-5 victory over Fabio Fognini and Diego Schwartzman at Princes’ Court.

Nikola Mektic and Mate Pavic qualified for their seventh semi-final of the year with a 6-3, 6-1 victory over Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut. Mektic and Pavic saved all four breakpoints they faced against the 2016 champions to rule out two wins from their fifth title of the season.

ALSO READ  Five Madrid blockbuster fans at the start of the season

The Croatian couple hold a 27-3 record in 2021, highlighted by their run for the Miami crown earlier this month. Mektic and Pavic will try to reach their sixth final of the year (4-1) when they face Marcel Granollers and Horacio Zeballos in the semi-final.


Granollers and Zeballos beat Cristian Garin and Guido Pella 6-3, 6-1 to reach the bottom four in the Principality. The fourth seed didn’t face a breaking point en route to their 54-minute victory, which kept their bid for a third ATP Masters 1000 tag team title alive. Granollers and Zeballos won the Open Banque Nationale 2019 presented by Rogers and Internazionali BNL d’Italia last year.