AUS vs IND: India’s test record at Gabba, Brisbane | Cricket News


India reaches the end point of its nearly two-month tour of Australia with the fourth and final test in Brisbane and there is still a lot to play. The series is level 1-1, a place in the World Test Championship final is on the line, as is Australia’s record at the site – they haven’t lost a test at Gabba since 1988. India and Australia have only played six tests in Since the Indians first visited the country in 1947-48, the Gabba were all won by Australia except in 2003.

Here’s how the two teams faced off at Brisbane’s ‘fortress’

November 28-December 4, 1947 – Australia won by one set and 226 points

India’s first test in Australia was played in Brisbane and the hosts won the contest by one end and 226 points. Sir Donald Bradman scored 185 as Australia declared it on 382 for 8 before beating India for 58 and 98.

ALSO READ  ICC Awards: Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur among four Indian women in ICC Women's Teams of the Decade | Cricket News

Jan. 19-24, 1968 – Australia won by 39 points

Doug Walters scored 93 and captain Bill Lawry clocked 64 as Australia scored 379 in the opening innings. Two 74 shots from MAK Pataudi and ML Jaisimha helped Inda finish with 279. Australia responded with 294 as Walters scored another half a century before the Indians were knocked out for 355, despite Jaisimha’s 101, pursuing 395.

2-6 December 1977 – Australia won by 16 points

Australia was regrouped for 166 in the first innings but came back to beat India for 153. Then Bob Simpson’s 89 helped Australia to 327 in the second innings and despite Sunil Gavaskar’s 113. , India was sacked for 324 while chasing 341 points. Bishan Singh Bedi got five wickets in the first set while Madan Lal got a five for in the second. For Australia, Jeff Thomson won seven in the match.

ALSO READ  Cairn wins $ 1.2 billion in damages in tax row with Center

November 29-December 2, 1991 – Australia won by 10 wickets

After ruling India out for 239 in the opening innings, courtesy of Craig McDermott, five wickets, Australia made 340, helped by Mark Taylor’s 94. The Indians could only score 156 points on the second attempt and Australia knocked out the 58-point target with 10 wickets. in the hand.

December 4-8, 2003 – Draw

In a rain-affected competition, Sourav Ganguly’s 144 eclipsed Justin Langer’s 121 as India responded to Australia’s 323 with 409. Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting, Damien Martyn and Steve Waugh all reached their 50s in the second inning as Australia declared 284 for 3. Chasing 199, India finished 73 for 2 at Stumps on the final day.

ALSO READ  Will the last day of the Brisbane test between India and Australia be affected by the rain? Here's what the weather report says


December 17-20, 2014 – Australia won by four wickets

Murali Vijay’s 144 and Ajinkya Rahane’s 81 helped India reach 408 in the opening heats. Steve Smith hit back with 133 while Mitchell Johnson and Mitchell Starc hit the 50s in lower order to help Australia at 505. India slumped for 224 in the second try and Australia chased the 128 point target with four wickets in hand.

Topics mentioned in this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here