Australia vs India: KL Rahul ready for “responsibility and challenge” as vice-captain | Cricket News


India and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) wicket-keeper KL Rahul is confident to take on ‘the responsibility and the challenge’ as India’s White Ball team vice-captain for the Australian tour next month . The Indian selectors announced on Monday the ODI, T20I and Test squad against Australia. Rahul received the award for his continued performance in the Indian Premier League (IPL) as he has scored the most points this season so far. He also led his team KXIP, and under his captain Punjab are currently placed in fourth place in the points table and are looking to advance to the playoffs.

“It’s a very happy and proud time. I wasn’t expecting it, but I’m very happy. I’m ready for the responsibility and the challenge and I’ll try to do my best for my team as much as I can. “,” KXIP’s official website quoted Rahul as saying.

ALSO READ  WBBL 2020: Melbourne stars Nat Sciver pulls off the 'out of this world' one-handed grip. Watch | Cricket News

In 12 games to date, Rahul has racked up 595 runs with an average of 59.50 including a century and five fifty.

“I’m looking forward to the upcoming tour, but the next 2-3 weeks are very important. The next 2-3 months will be very important. I’m thinking of one day at a time, not much at the moment, “he added.

India T20I team: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal , Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy.

ALSO READ  MI "must be aware" of Hardik Pandya's workload: Mahela Jayawardene | Cricket News

India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur.

India test team: Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj.

ALSO READ  IPL 2020: Vijay Shankar gets engaged to Vaishali Visweswaran - See photos

India and Australia will play three ODIs, three T20Is and four Tests against each other. The series of tests will be part of the World Test Championship.


India and Australia are currently in first and second place respectively in the World Test Championship standings.

The last time India visited Australia, the team led by Virat Kohli managed to win their first round of Down Under tests.

Topics mentioned in this article