BCCI fires Chetan Sharma-led selection committee; Invites new applications


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) made a surprise decision when they dismissed the national selection committee of the Indian men’s team headed by Chetan Sharma over the performance of the Men in Blue in the two T20 World Cups they participated in 2021 and 2022.

The selection committee led by Chetan Sharma was the one who chose the squad for these two mega ICC events. In T20 World Cup 2021, Indian team captained by Virat Kohli failed to reach the semi-finals and also lost their first World Cup match against Pakistan. Virat Kohli had already announced his resignation as T20I captain, but he was also sacked as ODI captain and in January 2022 he also stepped down as Test captain.

ALSO READ  PAK vs ENG Melbourne Cricket Ground Weather Forecast and Pitch Report - ICC T20 World Cup 2022, Final
Image Credits: Twitter

India then made it to the semi-finals of the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia, but conceded a humiliating 10-wicket defeat to England in Adelaide and they crashed out of the tournament, where their performance was called into question despite winning four of their five. Super 12s matches.

As of late 2021, the Sharma-led selection panel was reduced to four members after former Mumbai and India fast bowler Abey Kuruvilla served the maximum five-year tenure. While Kuruvilla moved on to the role of general manager of BCCI (cricket development), the board did not appoint his replacement to the selection panel.

ALSO READ  MXI vs KXI Dream11 Prediction, Fantasy Cricket Tips, Dream11 Team, Playing XI, Pitch Report, Injury Update - BYJU'S Pondicherry Interdistrict T20

BCCI invites applications for new selectors

On November 18, 2022, the BCCI posted on its website and Twitter handle that it was inviting applications for the position of National Selectors to be submitted no later than November 28, 2022 at 6:00 PM IST.

BCCI fires Chetan Sharma led selection committee.  PC Twitter
BCCI fires Chetan Sharma led selection committee. PC Twitter

The current selection panel consisting of Chetan Sharma (Chairman), Debashish Mohanty, Harvinder Singh and Sunil Joshi has been dismissed. The Bharat Express News reported that the four current selectors currently watching the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy games had not received any communication from BCCI regarding the development.

The current selection panel has already announced Indian selections for the New Zealand limited-overs series which is now underway, but also the Bangladesh tour in December in an unprecedented move as no selection committee had announced Indian team selections for two separate series together and so much in advance.

Read also: IND vs NZ: “Play the man who is destructive by nature” – Aakash Chopra on Prithvi Shaw


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here