Bihar Panchayat 2021 polls: first phase voting begins, hotline set up for voting issues


The Bihar Panchayat elections which will take place in 11 phases begin today. In a context of enhanced security, the voting for the first phase will take place in 12 blocks spread over 10 districts. Voting begins at 7 a.m. and will continue until 5 p.m.

This time, voting will take place via EVMs (electronic voting machines) and ballots. A total of 14,000 people were deployed on polling stations in 2,119 polling stations established in 1,609 centers. The State Election Commission (SEC) takes all necessary steps to organize free and fair voting in the state.

ALSO READ  17 candidates vying for Tarapur in Bihar, Kushwar Asthan Assembly vote

The SEC has made arrangements to distribute the polls on the web in sensitive and super sensitive booths. It has also set up a state-level control room where any complaints about bad election practices or other discrepancies can be filed by simply dialing 18003457243.

To stop bogus votes, this time voters would be verified using biometric machines in voting booths. 15,328 candidates submitted a declaration of candidacy, of which 858 candidates were elected without opposition while no candidate filed a declaration of candidacy for 72 positions.

ALSO READ  Explanation of TBEN: Why does it rain so much in October? Isn't the monsoon over yet?

The counting of the votes will take place between September 26 and 28, once the first phase has been completed. 28 districts of Bihar will not go to the polls in the first phase, including Patna, Bhagalpur and Darbhanga. For the first time, the counting of votes will take place at the district headquarters or at the district headquarters.

ALSO READ  PM Modi meets with US President Joe Biden at the White House