Border-Gavaskar Trophy: Australia announces 18-man roster to tour India; include four spinners, six pacers


Australia has announced an 18-man squad for the upcoming Border-Gavaskar Trophy series in India, which kicks off on February 9. Four spinners are included in the traveling squad, with rising star Todd Murphy vying for the chance to become Nathan Lyon’s spin partner alongside Mitchell Swepson and Ashton Agar. This series promises to be exciting as the Australian team aims to make a statement in the subcontinent.

Peter Handscomb is in line for a Test recall for the first time since January 2019, joining Matt Renshaw on the reserve batsman list. Unfortunately, Marcus Harris was left out of the squad.

Meanwhile, unrestricted fast Lance Morris has retained his place in the squad and could make his test debut in India as Mitchell Starc will not be available until after the first test match at Nagpur. This could be a defining moment for Morris as he aims to make his mark on the international stage.

ALSO READ  'Abbu, Arjun has everything..': Sarfaraz Khan's father tells story about his son and Arjun Tendulkar

Cameron Green, who was injured in the Boxing Day Test against South Africa, is also racing against time to be fit for the first Test in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Young spinner Murphy has earned his place in the squad thanks to his outstanding performances for Victoria, Australia A and the Premiers XI over the past year. Speaking of Murphy’s inclusion on Cricket Australia’s official website, Selection Committee Chairman George Bailey praised the 22-year-old’s rapid development, pointing to his impressive domestic record and emergence as a formidable spin option.

ALSO READ  'Won't go into a depression': Sarfaraz Khan after being sidelined by India's test squad against Australia

“Todd Murphy has progressed quickly after impressing in domestic cricket and most recently with Australia A. With those performances, Todd has emerged as a strong spin option,” said selection chairman George Bailey.

“Selection in this team also offers another opportunity to spend time alongside Nathan Lyon and assistant coach Daniel Vettori in India, which will be invaluable to his development.”

Looking for their first test series win in India since 2004, Australia will play test matches in Nagpur (February 9-13), New Delhi (February 17-21), Dharamsala (March 1-5) and Ahmedabad (March 9-13).

ALSO READ  'World No1 all-rounder': Fans react as Ravindra Jadeja takes seven wickets against Tamil Nadu in Ranji Trophy

Test squad Australia for India tour: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc) , Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

READ| ‘Not fair to Anushka, had to take…’: What Virat Kohli Suryakumar Yadav told about his frustration