Chhattisgarh Congress backs Rahul Gandhi as party’s national president


With elections for the Indian National Congress (INC) party chairman approaching, the Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee passed a resolution on Sunday, September 18, to make party leader Rahul Gandhi the national party chairman.

However, the head of the state congress, Mohan Markam, said on Sunday that the party’s national president, Sonia Gandhi, has the right to call for the nomination of the new president for the state and said the party workers here would instructions will follow.

The resolution of the Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee (CPCC) was passed in a meeting of 310 delegates of the Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) (who will vote in the party’s presidential elections) from Chhattisgarh, chaired by Hussain Dalwai, said Sushil Anand Shukla , communications wing of the state congress. .

ALSO READ  Election of the President of Congress: Big Change or No Change; what can be expected?

This is the second time in 2022 that the CPCC has passed a resolution to make Rahul Gandhi the national president. they would have done the same in June 2022. The INC has decided that the election for the national president will take place on October 17, and the results will be announced on October 19.

Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot backed Rahul Gandhi as he became the president of the congress as a state unit on Sept. 17, which unanimously passed a resolution in support of him, said Food Minister Pratap Singh Khachariya. The resolution was proposed by Gehlot.

It should be noted that if only one candidate remains in the fray after the nominations are withdrawn, the name of the president himself will be announced on October 8. Congress last saw a competition for the post in November 2000.

ALSO READ  Poll President of Congress: 'I will fight', says Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot

The All India Congress Committee (AICC) has appointed Dalwai as the election officer for the Chhattisgarh unit. Chhattisgarh Congress President Mohan Markam, Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, AICC General Secretary PL Punia, and state ministers attended the meeting at Rajiv Bhawan, the ruling party’s state office.

Speaking to reporters, CM Baghel said he had tabled the resolution to appoint Rahul Gandhi as party chairman, who was seconded by PCC chief Mohan Markam, state assembly chairman Charan Das Mahant, ministers TS Singh Deo, Shivkumar Dahariya and Premsai Singh tecam.

When asked, Baghel said: “The Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee passed the resolution today (to make Rahul Gandhi president) and the Rajasthan unit of the party has also done so.”

ALSO READ  Soon, pay highway toll based on vehicle size, road stress

Baghel said he and others also supported another resolution tabled by the PCC chief to authorize the congressional president to appoint the party’s head of state and other office holders. Both resolutions were passed in the meeting, he added.

Meanwhile, the ‘Bharat Jodo Yatra’ led by Congressman Rahul Gandhi resumed on its 11th day from Haripad, Alappuzha. Rahul Gandhi, along with other senior congressional leaders, has covered more than 200 km of the 3,500 km yatra, which began on September 7 from Kanyakumari and will end in Srinagar, spanning twelve states and two union territories in about five months.

Check out all the political news and updates on Live TBEN. Download the TBEN News app for daily market updates and live business news.

More or less

Subscribe to TBEN Newsletters

* Please enter a valid email address

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Post your comment