Common eligibility test for railways, IBPS and SSC: exams start from September


The National Recruitment Agency would start conducting online tests for certain categories of government jobs from September, Union Minister Jitendra Singh said on Wednesday. The central government has set up a national recruitment agency to streamline the recruitment process in India. The new agency will conduct a common eligibility test (CET) to select applicants for unpublished positions in central government and public sector banks. There will be a common entrance test for the Personnel Selection Commission (SSC) and the Bank Personnel Selection Institute (IBPS) and the Railway Recruitment Board (RRB). The goal of a common entrance test is to eliminate multiple tests and save valuable time and resources.

“The NRA is expected to start leading the CET from September 2021,” Singh said in a written response to Lok Sabha.

“The NRA will only make a preliminary selection of candidates. The final recruitment will be through domain specific exams / tests which will be conducted by the respective agencies, namely. SSC, RRB and IBPS. Based on the score obtained on the CET achieved by the NRA, candidates may appear in field-specific examinations / tests to be carried out by the respective recruitment agencies ”, added the Minister.

ALSO READ  India must promote digital education: IBM CEO

The NRA would identify language experts to translate the question bank / document into all regional languages ​​included in the 8th Annex of the Constitution, as required and subject to an adequate number of candidates choosing to take the test in the regional language, he said.

Key points to know about the common eligibility test

1) The National Recruitment Agency will carry out preliminary examinations for Group B (not published in the Official Gazette), Group C (non-technical) and clerical positions in government, as well as various equivalent recruitments in banks in the public sector.

ALSO READ  IIM Bangalore sees a good placement season

2) There will be a separate CET for each of the three levels of graduate, upper secondary (12th passage) and applicants for the matricule (10th passage).

3) Based on the selection made at the CET score level, the final selection for recruitment will be made through separate specialized examination levels (II, III, etc.) which will be conducted by the respective recruitment agencies .

4) The CET score will be valid for three years. There will be no restriction on the number of attempts a candidate has to appear for the CET subject to the upper age limit, the statement said.

5) “The curriculum for this test would be common, as would the standard. It would significantly ease the burden on candidates who are currently required to prepare for each of the exams separately under a different curriculum,” the central government said in a statement.

ALSO READ  Classes 6 to 11 will resume from February 8 in Uttarakhand

6) The NRA will set up examination centers in every district of the country to help young people, especially women, in rural and remote areas of the country, as they will not have to travel to another location to take the exam. recruitment tests, the Union Cabinet said in a statement.

7) Applicants would be able to register on a common portal and offer a choice of centers. Depending on availability, they would be assigned centers.

8) For the creation of the National Recruitment Agency, the central government sanctioned 1,517.57 crore, the Union Cabinet said in a statement.

To subscribe to TBEN newsletters

* Enter a valid email address

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.