Congress appoints Rajni Patil for Rajya Sabha Bypoll in Maharashtra, BJP chooses Sanjay Upadhyay


Congress, BJP declared its candidates for Rajya Sabha by poll in Maharashtra (File)


Congress on Monday declared top party leader Rajni Patil’s candidacy for next month’s Rajya Sabha by-election, which was made necessary by the death of incumbent Rajiv Satav.

Ms. Patil is Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) candidate for head of Shiv Sena, of which Congress is a part, the party said in a statement.

The BJP announced the name of Sanjay Upadhyay, general secretary of the party’s unity in Mumbai, for the October 4 contest, a party spokesman said on Monday.

ALSO READ  "Well done, Rahul": BJP takes a #MeToo Dig Over Punjab Choice

Mr. Satav died on May 16 of this year. His term will end on April 2, 2026.
The deadline for submitting candidacy files for the indirect ballot is September 22. The document review will take place on September 23 and the document withdrawal deadline is September 27.

The vote will take place on October 4 and the counting of the votes will take place on the same day.

ALSO READ  The BJP needs the "Yogya" government, not the Yogi government: Akhilesh Yadav

The Maharashtra Legislative Assembly, made up of 288 members, forms the electoral college for the indirect ballot.

The BJP has the 106 highest MPs in the House, followed by Shiv Sena (56), NCP (53), Congress (43), Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (3), Samajwadi Party (2), AIMIM (2), Prahar Janshakti Party (2), MNS (1), CPM (1), Swambhimani Party (1), Rashtriya Samaj Paksh (1), Krantikari Shetkari Party (1) and Independents 13. One seat is vacant since the death of the congressman Raosaheb Antapurkar in April.

ALSO READ  PM Modi's direct flight to Washington while the stopover in Frankfurt becomes a past

Ms Patil, 63, was previously elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha in 2013 and this will be the second time she will enter the elder’s house with a term until April 2, 2026.

Ms. Patil had represented the Beed Lok Sabha headquarters in 1996.

She began her career in electoral politics by getting elected to Zilla Parishad in the 1990s.