F1 2023: Full race calendar and how to watch as six sprint race venues confirmed


The most recent newcomer to the sport was Haas, in 2016. Before that, three teams joined in 2010.

However, Formula 1 CEO Stefano Domenicali said last September that the sport, which could have a record 24 races this year and is growing in popularity, needed no more than 10 teams.

The ‘Concorde Agreement’ between teams, FIA and Formula 1 stipulates that the 10 teams split their share of the sport’s revenue, meaning each new entrant would dilute the pot. For that reason, each new entrant must pay a $200 million fee to participate, with the money shared by the existing teams as compensation.

Having a new American-owned team in a sport that will have three rounds in the United States this year, including a night race in Las Vegas, could appeal to the sport’s US-based owners, Liberty Media.

Read below for more information about the 2023 season

When do pre-season tests take place?

Unlike last year, there will be only one pre-season test for the 2023 season. It will run from Thursday, February 23 to Saturday, February 25 at the Bahrain International Circuit, just outside Sakhir.

When is the first race of 2023?

The first Grand Prix of the 2023 season is also at the Bahrain International Circuit, running from Friday 3 to Sunday 5 March.

ALSO READ  Manchester United vs Reading live: Score and updates from the FA Cup

Where and when are the six speed races this year?

Formula 1 has announced the six sprint locations for 2023. Azerbaijan, Belgium, the Austin race in the United States and Qatar all join Austria and Brazil in qualifying on Friday and a shortened ‘sprint’ race on Saturday.

Three sprint races were held in 2022 – in Imola, Austria and Brazil – with much discussion early in the season about extending that offering for next year.

The teams and F1 were keen to double the numbers, arguing that sprint races have been successful in attracting fans and increasing audiences. But the FIA, motorsport’s global governing body, initially resisted, claiming it would cost them more and asking for compensation.

Just like last year, points will also be awarded to the eight best drivers in the sprint race. Again, the sprint races will be around 100km – or about a third of a Grand Prix distance – and will be run on Saturday, with the traditional three-part qualifying setting the grid for the sprint taking place on Friday.

The driver who tops qualifying on Friday when these sprint races take place will be awarded the official pole position, not the sprint winner, as was the case in 2021.

ALSO READ  Ellie Downie interview: 'I couldn't keep working under these people'

What are the driver line-ups?

Red Bull: Max Verstappen (33) and Sergio Pérez (11)
Mercedes: Lewis Hamilton (44) and George Russell (63)
Ferrari: Carlos Sainz (55) and Charles Leclerc (55)
Alps: Esteban Ocon (31) and Pierre Gasly (10)
McLaren: Lando Norris (4) and Oscar Piastri (81)
Alfa Romeo: Valtteri Bottas (77) and Guanyu Zhou (24)
Aston Martin: Lance Stroll (18) and Fernando Alonso (14)
Hare: Kevin Magnussen (20) and Nico Hulkenberg (27)
AlphaTauri: Yuki Tsunoda (22) and Nyck de Vries (subject to change)
williams: Alexander Albon (23) and Logan Sargeant (2)

What is the full calendar?

March 3-5: Bahrain Grand Prix, Sakhir
March 17-19: Saudi Arabian Grand Prix, Jeddah
March 31 – April 2: Australian Grand Prix, Melbourne *
April 28-30: Grand Prix of Azerbaijan, Baku +
May 5-7: Miami Grand Prix, Miami
May 19-21: Grand Prix Emilia Romagna, Imola
May 26-28: Monaco Grand Prix, Monte Carlo
June 2-4: Spanish Grand Prix, Barcelona
June 16-18: Canadian Grand Prix, Montreal
June 30 – July 2: Austrian Grand Prix, Spielberg +
July 7-9: British Grand Prix, Silverstone
July 21-23: Hungarian Grand Prix, Budapest
July 28-30: Belgian Grand Prix, Spa-Francorchamps +
August 25-27: Grand Prix of the Netherlands, Zandvoort
September 1-3: Italian Grand Prix, Monza
September 15-17: Singapore Grand Prix, Singapore
September 22-24: Japanese Grand Prix, Suzuka
October 6-8: Qatar Grand Prix, Lusail+
October 20-22: United States Grand Prix, Austin +
October 27-29: Mexico City Grand Prix, Mexico City
November 3-5: Sao Paulo Grand Prix, Sao Paulo +
November 16-18: Las Vegas Grand Prix, Las Vegas
November 24-26: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Yas Marina

ALSO READ  Royal Yacht replacement designed to be environmentally friendly and multicultural

*Note: The Chinese Grand Prix, scheduled for April 16, has been cancelled. It is expected to be replaced on that date, with Portugal leading the way.

+ Indicates sprint event weekend

How to watch the season

As has been the case for some time, Sky Sports F1 in the UK has virtually exclusive coverage rights for the season. They will show all practices, qualifying sessions, sprint qualifying and races throughout the season.

Channel 4 has extensive qualifying and race highlights again, with the British Grand Prix broadcast live in July.

If you’re outside the UK, you may also be able to subscribe to F1’s own F1TV for a monthly fee during the season.