Full UFC 279 Card with Nate Diaz and Chimaev Tonight

0
9

Friday could go down in history as one of the strangest days in UFC history, as Saturday’s UFC 279 map was turned upside down.

At the end of a week in which he faced another fighter at the UFC Performance Institute and later caused the cancellation of the pre-fight press conference by starting a series of backstage incidents, Khamzat Chimaev missed weight for his main event against Nate Diaz.

ALSO READ  All the music from the Queen's funeral - including one or two surprises

As a result, the card has been reworked, with rising star Chimaev now facing Kevin Holland – with whom he was involved in one of Thursday’s backstage fights – in a five-round catchweight bout, while icon Diaz takes on fan favorite and fellow veteran Tony Ferguson in the new main event.

Meanwhile, Ferguson and Holland’s originally scheduled opponents, Li Jingliang and Daniel Rodriguez, will face each other in a catchweight bout.

ALSO READ  Hamilton hints at Abu Dhabi but says safety car rules in Monza . were followed

Here’s everything you need to know about UFC 279.

When is it?

UFC 279 takes place on Saturday, September 10 at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.

The early prelims start at 11pm BST (3pm PT, 5pm CT, 6pm ET), and the prelims will follow on Sunday, September 11 at 1pm BST (5pm PT, 7pm CT, 8pm ET on Saturdays).

ALSO READ  Train strikes: new date added for October train outage

The main card will then take place at 3pm BST (7pm PT, 9pm CT, 10pm ET on Saturdays).

How can I view it?

The card will be broadcast live on BT Sport in the UK, with the broadcaster’s app and website also streaming the fights.

In the US, ESPN+ will stream the action live, as will the UFC’s Fight Pass.

Chances

Nate Diaz now takes on Tony Ferguson in a welterweight main event

(Getty images)

Diaz – 1/1; Ferguson – 4/5

Chimaev – 1/5; Netherlands – 7/2

Li – 6/5; Rodriguez – 4/6

Via Betway.

Full card

main card

Nate Diaz vs Tony Ferguson (Welterweight)

Khamzat Chimaev vs Kevin Holland (catchweight)

Li Jingliang vs Daniel Rodriguez (catchweight)

Irene defeats Aldana. Macy Chiasson via third-round TKO (up-kick, 2:21)

Johnny Walker def. Ion Cutelaba via first-round submission (rear-naked choke, 4:37)

Preliminary rounds

Julian Erosa def. Hakeem Dawodu via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Jailton beats Almeida. Anton Turkalj via first round submission (rear naked choke, 4:27)

Denis Tiuliulin beats. Jamie Pickett via TKO in the second round (knee, ground attacks; 4:52)

Chris Barnett def. Jake Collier via TKO in the second round (ground attacks, 2:24)

early preliminaries

Norma Dumont def. Danyelle Wolf via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Alatengheili final. Chad Anheliger via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Elise Reed def. Melissa Martinez via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28 29-28)

Yohan Lainesse beats. Darian Weeks via split decision (29-28, 29-28, 28-29)