Gujarat 2021 municipal election results: BJP sweeps civic polls, big setback for Congress


While the BJP is expected to retain power in six municipal corporations in Gujarat, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday called the victory “very special” and said a party which has served in a state for more than two decades to register a such a phenomenal victory is remarkable. .

The BJP appeared on track on Tuesday to retain power in six municipal corporations, winning 472 of the 576 seats where the results were declared until the evening.

The vote count is still ongoing in some local forums and the final results are awaited although the BJP clearly won by a huge margin.

ALSO READ  Mamata Banerjee questions Election Commission intentions, alleges announced poll dates at BJP convenience

Prime Minister Modi said the results of the municipal elections clearly show the unwavering faith of the people in development policies and good governance.

“Thank you Gujarat! The results of municipal elections across the state clearly show the unwavering faith of the people in development policies and good governance,” Modi said in a series of tweets.

“I am grateful to the people of the state for having trusted BJP once again. It is always an honor to serve Gujarat,” he said.

ALSO READ  Maharashtra congressman Devendra Fadnavis negotiates fuel price

In total, 192 seats in Ahmedabad, 72 in Rajkot, 64 in Jamnagar, 52 in Bhavnagar, 76 in Vadodara and 120 in Surat were to be won in the elections. The PAA had presented 470 candidates in the six companies.

The BJP should lead the local organizations in Vadodara, Rajkot, Jamnagar, Bhavnagar and Surat.

In Vadodara, the BJP won 66 of the VMC’s 76 total seats, with the rest going to the opposition Congress.

In Rajkot, the BJP won 68 seats out of a total of 72 seats, including four in Congress.

In Surat, the BJP won 93 seats, while the Aam Aadmi party won 27 seats. Congress drew a blank.

In Jamnagar, the BJP won 50 seats of the JMC’s 64 total, while the opposition Congress won 11 seats and the Bahujan Samaj party won three seats, opening its account in Gujarat.

ALSO READ  NIA arrests 4 drug traffickers in Kashmir narco-terrorism case

In Bhavnagar, the BJP won 44 seats out of the BMC’s total 52, with the rest going to the opposition Congress.

In Ahmedabad, the tally is still underway with the BJP in the lead with 148 seats out of 192.

Following the poor performance of Congress, a string of city party leaders resigned on Tuesday. Ashok Dangar, President of the Rajkot Congress, tendered his resignation. Likewise, Babu Rayka, chairman of Surat Congress and Prakash Vaghani, chairman of Bhavnagar Congress, also tendered their resignations.

Delhi Chief Minister and national organizer of the Aam Aadmi party, Arvind Kejriwal, on Tuesday praised his party’s performance in local polls and said the time had come for a new policy in Gujarat. Kejriwal is expected to visit Gujarat and hold a presentation tour in Surat on February 26.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here