Gujarat 2021 municipal election results Live updates: BJP takes lead with 60 seats, Congress in 12 constituencies – Politics News, The Bharat Express News


Gujarat 2021 Municipal Election Results and Vote Counting Live Updates: The first leads have started to arrive. In Rajkot district number 17, the panel supported by the BJP is currently in the lead

Representative image. TBEN

Gujarat Municipal Election Results 2021 LATEST News and Updates: The first tracks began to flow. In Rajkot Ward 17, the BJP-backed panel is currently in the lead, according to News18 Gujarati.

The counting of votes for 575 seats in six municipal corporations in Gujarat began at 9 a.m. under strict and strict security conditions. COVID-19[female[feminine protocols.

The counting of votes for 575 seats in six municipal corporations in Gujarat, which took place on Sunday, will take place today (Tuesday, February 23rd).

The counting of votes will take place for 192 seats in 48 wards of Ahmedabad municipal corporation, for 120 seats in 30 wards of Surat municipal corporation, 76 seats in 19 wards of Vadodara municipal corporation, for 72 seats in 18 districts of the Rajkot Municipal Corporation, 52 seats in 13 districts of the Bhavnagar Municipal Corporation and 64 seats in 16 districts of the Jamnagar Municipal Corporation.

ALSO READ  M Venkaiah Naidu Promotes Moderation While Using Social Media To Prevent Abuse, Calls For End Farmer Agitation - India News, The Bharat Express News

The State Election Commission, in its statement, said on Monday that an average turnout of 46.1% was recorded in the elections to six municipal corporations, with 52.83 lakh of the 1.41 crore of registered voters exercising their right to vote on Sunday. In the 2015 ballot with these six civic bodies, 45.81% of voters voted, according to the statement.

According to final figures shared by the SEC, Ahmedabad had the lowest turnout of 42.5%, while Jamnagar recorded the highest turnout of 53.4%. In addition, Rajkot recorded 50.7% of polls, Bhavnagar-49.5%, Vadodara-47.8% and Surat-47.1%.

Voting took place from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Sunday for a total of 144 wards spread across six civic bodies in a tight and following security framework COVID-19[female[feminine standards. Top BJP leaders, including Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP MP Kirit Solanki, Party MP Rakesh Shah and Gujarat Party Leader CR Paatil, voted on Sunday. According to reports, Chief Minister of Gujarat Vijay Rupani also voted in Rajkot, hours after he tested negative for COVID-19[female[feminine .

After exercising his right to vote at a polling station in the Naranpura sub-division of the Ahmedabad Municipal Company, Shah expressed his confidence that the BJP will win the municipal elections.

ALSO READ  Congress leaves Lok Sabha in Modi's speech, says PM failed to address concerns over farm laws - Politics News, The Bharat Express News

“The BJP has emerged victorious across the country under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. I am sure that Gujarat, where the BJP’s victory journey began, will once again become a stronghold of the BJP,” Shah said.

“I am sure that voters will turn out in large numbers and that development will prevail,” he added.

According to The Bharat Express NewsState Elections Commissioner Sanjay Prasad said the ballot was conducted peacefully, without major untoward incidents.

However, the Gujarat Congress has filed nine complaints with the SEC regarding alleged discrepancies in the voters list, alleged attempts to intimidate voters and alleged faulty EVM machines in Ahmedabad civic polls, according to the report. Congress, claiming to have violated voting guidelines, also filed a lawsuit against Rupani for flying to Rajkot with a helicopter to vote, according to the report.

The civic body elections are seen as a test for the Rupani government, as they may set the tone for the Assembly polls scheduled for next year.

The main dispute is between the BJP, which led the six companies for several terms, and the main opposition congress. During the election campaign, the BJP played the “development” card, while Congress, which has long been in power in these local communities, cited the “lack of amenities” and the recent rise in fuel prices. tide.

ALSO READ  Election to the West Bengal Assembly 2021, Chakulia profile: AIFB MP seeks to keep the seat occupied since the constituency was created in 2011 - Politics News, The Bharat Express News

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has claimed it would be an effective alternative to BJP and Congress, while Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is making his debut in polls of local organizations, after presented 21 candidates in six districts of Ahmedabad.

A total of 2,276 candidates, including 577 from the BJP, 566 from Congress, 470 from the AAP, 91 from the NCP, 353 from other parties and 228 independents, participated in the elections.

In addition, nine candidates were also in the fray for the two-seat by-elections of the Junagadh Municipal Corporation. After the results were announced today, elections for 31 districts and 231 taluka panchayats and 81 municipalities will be held on February 28.

With inputs from PTI

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro at ₹ 499 for the first year. Use code PRO499. Limited time offer. * T & C apply


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here