Gujarat 2022 elections: ex-CM Vijay Rupani, his former deputy and cabinet ministers stop voting


Gujarat elections 2022: Former CM Vijay Rupani, his deputy Nitin Patel to not contest polls (file photos)

Ahead of parliamentary elections in Gujarat, former head of state and BJP leader Vijay Rupani has announced that he will not participate in the 2022 polls.

He added that in upcoming polls, responsibility should be given to new party employees. “I have worked as Prime Minister for 5 years with everyone’s cooperation. In these polls, responsibility should be given to new workers. I will not contest the poll, I have sent a letter to the seniors and sent it to Delhi. We will work to get elected candidate wins,” Rupani said.

ALSO READ  Gujarat Assembly Elections: Rift in BJP as Incumbent MLA Kesarisinh Solanki Joins AAP

Apart from Rupani, former deputy CM of Gujarat Nitin Patel has also said he will not participate in the upcoming parliamentary elections. In addition, senior BJP leader BJP MLA Bhupendrasinh Chudasama will also not participate in the upcoming polls.

“I have decided that other workers should be given a chance. I have fought the elections nine times so far. I express my gratitude to the party,” Chudasama said. Another BJP leader who has decided not to contest the polls is Pradipsinh Jadeja, an MLA from the seat of the Vatva assembly.

ALSO READ  Gujarat Elections 2022 And Beyond: How Modi Government's Policies Benefited Muslims Since 2014

All BJP leaders who have decided not to contest the polls are:

  • Vijay Rupani
  • Nitin Patel
  • Saurabh Patel
  • Bhupendrasinh Chudasama
  • Pradipsinh Jadeja
  • RC Faldu
  • Vibhavri Dave
  • Vallabh Kakdia

READ | Himachal Pradesh Assembly Election Dates 2022 Announced: Vote on November 12, View Full Poll Schedule

In the hotly contested Gujarat polls five years ago, the BJP had won 99 seats and its main rival Congress 77 seats.

Currently, the BJP’s strength in the 182-member Assembly is 111 after several Congressional MLAs have defected to it and the saffron party is unlikely to repeat all existing MLAs.