Gujarat CM Patel expected to have a young firm; swearing in tomorrow


The swearing-in of the government led by Bhupendra Patel in Gujarat will take place tomorrow at Raj Bhawan in Gandhinagar. According to reports, more than 20 leaders are sworn in as ministers.

The majority of cabinet ministers headed by former chief minister Vijay Rupani are expected to be sacked. The party reportedly decided to give new and young faces a chance to work with the newly sworn in CM.

“It will likely be a relatively young cabinet with new faces. Patidars will likely dominate the cabinet,” the news agency said. ANI cited a source as saying.

ALSO READ  Gujarat cabinet CM Bhupendra Patel is sworn in - View full list of ministers

Patel, 59, was sworn in on Monday after Vijay Rupani’s sudden resignation on Saturday. Patel belongs to the Patidar community.

The Ghatlodia MP was unanimously elected leader of the BJP legislative party on Sunday and was sworn in as the 17th chief minister of state by the governor of Gandhinagar on Monday.

The party had announced earlier today that the ceremony would take place on Wednesday. Even Raj Bhavan’s posters mentioned September 15th as the date of the ceremony. However, the posters were taken down today afternoon.

ALSO READ  Bhupendra Patel appointed new Chief Minister of Gujarat

The governor’s office confirmed that the ceremony has been postponed until Thursday. “The swearing-in ceremony for ministers will take place at 1:30 p.m. Thursday,” Manish Bharadwaj, special duty officer to Governor Acharya Devvrat, told the news agency. PTI.

Neither the BJP nor the state government gave a reason for the postponement.

“There is a massive exercise underway to see that leaders who will not be housed in the cabinet will not feel excluded,” the source added.

The sources said those who are unsuccessful have been guaranteed tickets to the upcoming parliamentary elections.

ALSO READ  The Taliban's return to Afghanistan is a balancing act for Iran

The party is counting on Patel to consolidate the party’s fortunes ahead of the parliamentary elections towards the end of next year. In the 2017 parliamentary elections, the BJP won 99 of 182 seats and Congress won 77.

To subscribe to TBEN newsletters

* Enter a valid email address

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with TBEN. Download our app now !!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here