Hima Das and Dutee Chand named to 4x100m relay team for TBEN relays | Athletics News


Star sprinter Hima Das and national record holder Dutee Chand were named Tuesday to India’s women’s 4x100m team for the world relay in athletics, an Olympic qualifying event, to be held in Poland on May 1-2. S Dhanalakshmi, who beat Dutee in the Women’s 100m final of the Federation Cup last month, has also been named to the squad, along with Archana Suseendran, Himashree Roy and AT Daneshwari. India will also field teams in the men’s 4x400m and women’s 4x400m relays in Chorzow, Silesia, Poland. The top eight teams in the World Track and Field Relays will automatically qualify for the Tokyo Olympics.

ALSO READ  British athletics promise 'zero tolerance' for sexism after damning report | Athletics News

The Indian 4x400m mixed relay team have already qualified for the Tokyo Olympics after reaching the final at the 2019 World Championships in Doha.

AFI has nominated a total of 20 athletes for the World Relays. It will be the first major international event for Indian sprinters since the Asian Athletics Championships in Doha in April 2019.

“We are delighted to prepare our athletes for their first international competition after the gap induced by Covid-19,” AFI President Adille Sumariwalla said in a statement.

ALSO READ  Error 404 | TBEN

“We were able to organize competitions at NIS Patiala in February and March to give our athletes a sense of competition.”

Sumariwalla said AFI was happy that the focus on the women’s 100m sprinters in the national camps had paid off.

“While S Dhanalakshmi appeared on the Federation Cup stage last month, she and Dutee Chand are two Indian runners who have run under 11.50 seconds this season.

ALSO READ  Error 404 | TBEN

“We think the women’s 4x100m team with Dhanalakshmi, Dutee, Hima Das and Archana Suseendran can provide a good effort,” he said.

The teams

4x400m relay men: Amoj Jacob, Naganathan Pandi, Muhammed Anas Yahiya, Arokia Rajiv, Sarthak Bhambri, Ayyasamy Dharun and Nirmal Noah Tom.


4x400m relay women: MR Poovamma, Subha Venkatesh, Kiran, Anjali Devi, R Revathi, VK Vismaya and Jisna Mathew.

4x100m relay women: S Dhanalakshmi, Dutee Chand, Hima Das, Archana Suseendran, Himashree Roy and AT Daneshwari.

Topics mentioned in this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here