ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Sunil Gavaskar returns Ravi Bishnoi despite numbing India’s T20 squad ahead of Marquee event


In an exclusive interview with India Today, Gavaskar said Bishnoi should raise his bar and make himself ineradicable in the near future.

“Well, he’s got age on his side. In a few years there will be another T20 World Cup. There are so many T20 World Cups he can play in the future. He should now perform in such a way that he can no longer be dropped. So that’s the only way to look at it. He’s a young man, it’s a good experience for him to know that he can’t get into every team.” said the veteran batter.

ALSO READ  India Women vs England Women Live Streaming Details- When and where to watch IND W vs ENG W live in your country? India Women Tour of England 2022, 3rd T20I
Sunil Gavaskar (Image Credit: Twitter)

Bishnoi became a household name in India after his stints in the Indian Premier League with Punjab Kings, under the mentorship of Anil Kumble. The spinner is currently trading with the Lucknow Super Giants.

Gavaskar believes the addition of Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel will help India defend matches

Gavaskar added that the India team looked like a good unit with the addition of Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel.

ALSO READ  Alice Capsey, Freya Kemp named in England women's ODI squad to face India

“This seems like a really good squad. With Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel coming in, it looks like India will be able to defend their totals. India has had trouble defending totals. These two stalwarts coming in will definitely give India an edge when defending totals,” he said.

India T20 World Cup 2022 Squad
India T20 World Cup 2022 Squad

The Indian team made five major changes to their main squad, with Deepak Hooda, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Dinesh Karthik and Harshal Patel making their way to the 15-man squad.

ALSO READ  India vs South Africa Dream11 Prediction, Fantasy Cricket Tips, Dream11 Team, Play XI, Pitch Report, Injury Update- South Africa Tour of India, 1st T20I

India Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, B Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

ALSO READ: India Squad for T20 World Cup 2022 Announced; Mohammed Shami back in the reserves