IND vs NZ: Veteran Off-Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin predicts Team India’s Playing XI for T20Is against New Zealand, leaves Bhuvneshwar Kumar


Team India is currently on tour to New Zealand for a three-match T20I series, which will be followed by an equal-match ODI series. The first game of the T20I series was called off due to rain with no ball being bowled at Sky Stadium, Wellington. The second game of the series will be played on Sunday, November 20 at the Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui.

Before the match, Ravichandran Ashwin has named his India XI for the ongoing T20I series against New Zealand. India’s all-format captain Rohit Sharma, as well as senior batsmen Virat Kohli and KL Rahul, have been rested, and star all-rounder Hardik Pandya will lead India in the shorter format, while Shikhar Dhawan will do so in ODIs.

Hardik Pandya-Kane Williamson Photo Credit: (Twitter/BlackCaps)

Veteran Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin made some interesting comments while talking about playing XI on his YouTube channel. Surprisingly, Bhuvneshwar Kumar didn’t make it to Ashwin’s India XI, while Sanju Samson was another notable name that wasn’t on the off-list.

ALSO READ  IND vs NZ: "India did the right thing by not jeopardizing his career" - Danish Kaneria hails Rohit Sharma for resting Jasprit Bumrah for T20 World Cup 2022

While stating that Shubman Gill would definitely open the Indian innings, Ashwin said that both Ishan Kishan and Rishabh Pant would be considered for the second opener position. He said that Shreyas Iyer and Suryakumar Yadav took the third and fourth position respectively.

Rishabh pants
Rishabh Pant, Image Credit (Image Credit: Twitter)

The off-spinner also stated that if Rishabh Pant does not get a chance at the top, he will bat at number five. Ashwin trusted Harshal Patel to bat at number 8 for India before opting for Mohammad Siraj and Arshdeep Singh as the other two pacemakers in the side. Leg spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has also been named as the main spinner in the XI.

ALSO READ  DG vs CB Dream11 Prediction, Fantasy Cricket Tips, Dream11 Team, Playing XI, Pitch Report, Injury Update - Abu Dhabi T10 League

Ravichandran Ashwin’s India Xi for T20is against New Zealand

Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya (C), Deepak Hooda, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Also Read: IND vs NZ: “The wrist strength he needs to hit balls for six in extremely awkward areas is a talent you rarely see” – Glenn Phillips in awe of Suryakumar Yadav

ALSO READ  AUS vs ENG Prediction - Who Will Win Today's Match Between Australia vs England, England Tour of Australia 2022, 1st ODI