IND vs SL 3rd ODI: Virat Kohli breaks Sachin Tendulkar’s record for most centuries at home


Virat Kohli achieved his second century of the year in India’s third one-day international match against Sri Lanka at Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram on Sunday. His impressive performance was met with thunderous applause from the crowd as he hit the milestone in style, crushing Sri Lankan bowlers all over the park.

This was Kohli’s third century in his last four ODI innings, a remarkable achievement. After a three-year drought, Kohli marked his first ODI century on India’s tour to Bangladesh in December 2022, and followed it up with a century in the first ODI against Sri Lanka at Guwahati. This impressive streak of centuries has cemented Kohli’s position as one of the greatest hitters of all time.

ALSO READ  The final of the ICC World Test Championship is likely to start on THIS date

Virat Kohli strode to the crease in the 17th over after the departure of captain Rohit Sharma who had scored a staggering 42 points. Kohli then formed a formidable 131-run partnership with Shubman Gill for the second wicket. In the 43rd over, Kohli reached the century mark, having taken just 85 balls to reach the three-digit mark.

Virat Kohli’s 46th ODI century has him just three off Sachin Tendulkar’s record-breaking tally of 49 centuries in the format.

ALSO READ  'Don't think he can do that again': Haris Rauf remembers Virat Kohli's six-cylinder from T20 World Cup - WATCH

At the age of 34, Virat Kohli surpassed Sachin Tendulkar’s record of most ODI centuries at home with his 21st century in just 101 innings. His 10th century against Sri Lanka was a remarkable achievement, surpassing both Tendulkar’s record of 9 centuries against Australia and his own record of 9 centuries against the West Indies.


ALSO READ  Virat Kohli or Sachin Tendulkar? Shubman Gill chooses this star batter

Virat Kohli (IND)* 21

Sachin Tendulkar (IND) 20

Hashim Amla (SA) 14

Ricky Ponting (AUS) 13

Ross Taylor (NZ) 12

Virat Kohli also blasted past Mahela Jayawardena’s impressive 12,650 runs to become the fifth highest runs scorer in One Day International (ODI) cricket history.