India vs New Zealand: NZ play 11 for IND, 1st ODI


After winning the ODI series against Pakistan, New Zealand is all set to face India in a three match ODI and T20I series. The series kicks off with the first ODI in Hyderabad on January 18. The Kiwis are currently the top-ranked ODI side, while India is fourth. The series continues preparations for both teams for the ODI World Cup later this year.

Both teams have announced their ODI squads. Rohit Sharma will lead the Men in Blue while Tom Latham will lead the Kiwis. Most of the players who played in the ODI series against Sri Lanka have been named for the series against New Zealand.

For the Kiwis, most of the players who played against Pakistan in the series have been retained for the India tour. Regular skipper Kane Williamson has decided to cancel the tour. Matt Henry has been ruled out of the India series with an abdominal strain. Adam Milne also pulled out of the series due to lack of prep time.

ALSO READ  IND vs SL: SLC gives update on Jeffrey Vandersay, Ashen Bandara after their scary clash during 3rd ODI

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 forecast | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket news | Live cricket score | Australia tour through India 2023

Tom Latham and Kane Williamson (Credits: Twitter/ICC)

New Zealand last played an ODI series against India in November 2022. They won the first ODI in Auckland. The next two in Hamilton and Christchurch were washed out by rain. The upcoming series will once again spice up the rivalry between the two sides.

ALSO READ  IND vs NZ: "Has anyone scored the double hundred?" - Danish Kaneria brutal take on Pakistan's performance compared to India
New Zealand national cricket team
New Zealand National Cricket Team (PC-TBEN)

The series kicks off on January 18 with the first ODI in Hyderabad. The second and third ODI will be played in Raipur (January 21) and Indore (January 24). Both teams then play a three-game T20I series. The T20Is will be played in Ranchi (January 27), Lucknow (January 29) and Ahmedabad (February 1) respectively.

IPL 2023 | Indian national cricket team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Henry Nicholls is expected to replace Kane Williamson in the batting order. Lockie Ferguson, Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi are the Kiwi bowlers who have a lot of experience playing in India. In this article we take a look at New Zealand’s presumptive playing XI for the first ODI against India. However, Tim Southee and Trent Boult are missing from the series, which is a concern for the Kiwi skipper Latham.

ALSO READ  IND vs AUS: "Father always said test cricket is real cricket" - Ishan Kishan

India vs New Zealand: NZ plays 11 for IND, 1st ODI

Devon Conway

Devon Conway
Devon Conway. Pic Credits: Twitter.

The left-hander opens the batter. He scored 153 runs in the three-match ODI series against Pakistan, including a century in the second ODI. He made his ODI debut for New Zealand in 2021 and has only played 15 ODIs to date. In 2022, he played 9 ODIs and scored 200 runs at an average of less than 30.

Also Read: Indian team dethrones Australia to become the new number 1 in the ICC test rankings


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here