Jagan Reddy’s YSR Congress sweeps polls from local Andhra Pradesh organizations


The YSR Congress was founded just over a decade ago by Jagan Mohan Reddy.


The Yuvajan Sramika Rythu Congress (YSR), led by Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy, swept polls from local organizations in Andhra Pradesh, the results of which were announced today. At the time of the latest reports, the party had won nearly 90% of Mandal Parishads (MPTC) territorial constituencies and no less than 99% of Zilla Parishads (ZPTC) constituencies.

ALSO READ  Congress will line up Mahesh Dhodi for Dadra and Nagar Haveli Bypoll

Elections were held on April 8 for 515 ZPTC and 7,220 MPTC. The results were originally due to be announced on April 10. However, the Andhra Pradesh High Court blocked the count based on petitions filed by the Telugu Desam Party and the BJP, among others.

The opposition alleged that the mandatory period of the Model Code of Conduct had not been taken into account from the date of the announcement of the voting schedule.

ALSO READ  India, China hold 13th round of military talks on border tensions

Last Thursday, a division chamber of the High Court finally gave the green light for the vote count.

As of 7:30 p.m. today, the YSR Congress had secured 547 out of 553 ZPTC whose results were reported. In the MPTC, the tally was even more impressive – 7,284 seats out of the 8,083 declared.

The YSR Congress, founded just a decade ago, has won as many as 74 of the state’s 75 municipalities and nagar panchayats and won all 12 municipal corporations in the last polls.

ALSO READ  Western Railways to install 2,729 cameras with facial recognition system in 30 stations

In 2019, the party won 151 of 175 Assembly seats and 22 of Lok Sabha’s 25 seats in the general election.

The party attributes its dream run to social initiatives undertaken by Mr. Reddy’s government. He also cites continued efforts for the well-being of women, backward communities and minorities as the reason for his electoral success.