Jonny Bairstow misses the start of the second season of The Hundred


England batter Jonny Bairstow will not participate in the early stages of the ECB’s brainchild, The Hundred. According to The Bharat Express News, he has chosen to rest after a grueling summer season.

Bairstow is part of Welsh Fire and was scheduled to participate in the opening game of the season against Southern Brave on Wednesday. However, he will now miss the game and join the test team ahead of the series against South Africa.

After the Test series against the Proteas, England will travel to Pakistan for a 7-match T20I series. They will then move to Australia for the T20 World Cup and a bilateral series.

ALSO READ  MS Dhoni told me to believe in my abilities; Ruturaj Gaikwad supported me and gave me confidence - Mukesh Choudhary
Southern Brave was crowned Champion of the Hundred. (Photo: Twitter)

From then on, the team is scheduled to tour South Africa, New Zealand and Bangladesh in what will be a long drawn-out winter season. Therefore, it was not feasible for Bairstow to play in the first few games of the Hundred.

The news comes in response to Ben Stokes’ withdrawal from the competition. He is part of the Northern Superchargers team but will now focus on international commitments.

ALSO READ  Smriti Mandhana hits a 23-Ball Fifty against England in the CWG 2022 Semifinals; Breaks her own record

Meanwhile, England announced a 14-man squad for the first Test against the visiting Proteas. Ollie Robinson returns to the fold in place of Jamie Overton, who is injured.

Ollie Robinson
Ollie Robinson. Image-Getty

It’s good to get Ollie Robinson back into the mix after his recent injury. He will continue his progress by playing for the Lions next week against South Africa in a four-day game in Canterbury”, said Mo Bobat, performance director of the ECB.

ALSO READ  Last 2 T20Is between India and West Indies in US at risk of being shifted from Florida

England squad for 1st Test:

Ben Stokes (C), James Anderson, Jack Leach, Alex Lees, Jonny Bairstow, Craig Overton, Stuart Broad, Matthew Potts, Harry Brook, Ollie Pope, Zak Crawley, Ollie Robinson, Ben Foakes, Joe Root.

Also Read –IND vs WI: Don’t ruin the cricketer, he loses his confidence: Kris Srikkanth furious with Rohit Sharma for opening with Suryakumar Yadav