Jos Buttler, Jason Roy, Jason Holder among over 25 names signed up by the South African T20 League; CA offers BBL contract to top names to stop them


It has been reported that more than 25 cricketers have signed up for the T20 competition that Cricket South Africa (CSA) publishes and is due to start in January next year. Nearly a dozen names from England, 10 from Sri Lanka and 10 from the Caribbean islands have joined the team.

According to information obtained by The Bharat Express News, Cricket Australia (CA) is in the process of awarding Big Bash contracts to some of its top players including David Warner, Steven Smith, Pat CumminsMitchell Starc and Cameron Green.

This means that the best cricketers from Australia will not be able to participate in these new T20 competitions unless some of them decide to give up the game after this year’s T20 World Cup and become free players.

ALSO READ  WI vs IND: It's great to see Rohit Sharma back in shape: Rajkumar Sharma
Cricket South Africa T20 Challenge (Image Credit: Twitter)

Jos Buttler signs to play in South African T20 League

As well as a handful of people reportedly considering a move, New Zealand cricketers will also be avoiding the new T20 competitions.

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) is now writing new contracts so that its cricketers can continue to play domestic first-class cricket. Below are some of the well-known athletes who have already entered the competition in South Africa, while others are yet to do so.

Jason Roy and Jos Buttler, best opening pair of the 2021 T20 World Cup
Jason Roy and Jos Buttler (Image Credit: Twitter)

Jose Buttler, Liam Livingstone, Eoin Morgan, Jason Roy, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid and Tymal Mills are some of the English players who have already signed up; other names include Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Harry Tector.

ALSO READ  You Can't Write Virat Kohi Off: Brian Lara On Virat Kohli's Bad Run With The Bat

In addition, all the top T20 cricketers from South Africa have already signed up for their own “local” league. The list is currently a work in progress.

Availability West Indian players for South African T20 League still unknown

Kieron Pollard is a member of the Mumbai Indians, but it is unknown if the Trinidad would be available for the competition in South Africa or the UAE. Sunil Narine and Andre Russell have joined the Kolkata Knight Riders while Shimron Hetmeyer and Rovman Powell have joined GMR, the 50% owner of the Delhi Capitals which has invested in the UAE competition.

ALSO READ  Ravichandran Ashwin can ask so many questions in T20 Cricket: R Sridhar
Andre Russell and Sunil Narine.  (Credit: Internet)
Andre Russell and Sunil Narine. (Credit: Internet)

These signings are still in the works and will remain so until the World Cup is over. The cricket community is also anticipating the end of the World Cup as many cricketers will retire from their T20 careers after the match and be free to pursue other opportunities.

Franchise owners in South Africa, meanwhile, are also quite busy hiring support staff. Lance Klusener has been hired to coach the Lucknow Super Giants and Eric Simmons has joined the Chennai Super Kings with Stephen Fleming.

Also Read: IND vs WI: “Disagree we played cricket conservatively”: Rohit Sharma