MotoGP: Miguel Oliveira wins the Portuguese GP; Joan Mir retires by refusing the Suzuki triple crown


Miguel Oliveira on the Tech 3 KTM dominated the Portuguese GP securing the second victory of his career, while 2020 world champion Joan Mir retired early refusing the triple crown for Team Suzuki.

developSee the pictures

Miguel Oliveira claimed the second victory of his career by winning his home race in Portimao

Tech 3 KTM rider Miguel Oliveira claimed a dominant victory in the Portuguese Grand Prix, the grand finale of the 2020 MotoGP season. The rider led all 25 laps of the race for the second victory of his career, pulling back the curtains of his time at Tech 3 KTM on a hill. The rider joins the KTM works team next season. For 2020 world champion Joan Mir, the Portuguese GP turned out to be disastrous after the driver’s early retirement, denying the Suzuki team the triple crown. Joining Oliveira on the podium was Jack Miller of Pramac helping Ducati win their first Manufacturers’ Championship since 2007, while SRT rider Franco Morbidelli took last place on the podium.

Also read: Joan Mir crowned MotoGP 2020 world champion as Morbidelli wins Valencia GP


Miguel Oliveira crossed the checkered flag by a gap of 3.193s over Jack Miller | Photo credit: Eurosport

ALSO READ  Boeing warns 787 fuselage parts do not meet design standards

Oliveira started her home race on pole position, her very first, followed by Morbidelli and Miller in first place. On the second lap, the driver was 1.5 seconds ahead of Morbidelli and had a perfect race without making any mistakes. At the end of the stages, the Tech3 rider had built a lead of almost 4 seconds over Miller by taking the victory in Portimao, in what was the first MotoGP race in Portugal since 2012.


On the podium – Miguel Oliveira, Jack Miller and Franco Morbidelli


Meanwhile, Mir started the race in 20th place and was involved in a collision with Francesco Bagnaia of Pramac Ducati early on. The collision dislocated Bagnaia’s shoulder, while Mir had another contact two laps later with Avintia Ducati rider Johann Zarco dropping back down to 20th after climbing to 12th. The rider retired shortly after on lap 16 after a mechanical problem, ending Suzuki’s hopes of sealing the constructors’ championship, which would have been his first since 1982.

There was more action for P2 as Morbidelli and Miller vied for the spot. Morbidelli managed to keep defending position for most of the race but the Pramac rider found the gap at turn 13 on the final lap and finished his last race with the Ducati satellite team in second place. Morbidelli has always been on the podium without any threat to the P3, ending a brilliant season for Petronas SRT Yamaha on the 2019 M1.


Jack Miller passed Franco Morbidelli on the last lap to take P2, securing the constructors’ title for 2020

ALSO READ  Car Sales September 2020: Tata Motors Reports 37 Percent Sales Increase; Peak PV volumes

Pol Espargaro on the KTM finished in P4, followed by Takaaki Nakagami of LCR Honda in P5. Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso got the P6 after starting from the P12 in his last appearance with Ducati and MotoGP as he takes a break from the sport next year. Honda’s Stefan Bradl took 7th place ahead of teammate Alex Marquez, followed by Aleix Espargaro in 8th place. Johann Zarco finished in 10th place on the Avintia.

Yamaha’s Maverick Vinales took 11th place, while Valentino Rossi finished 12th in his last race with the Yamaha factory team. The rider will move to Petronas SRT Yamaha next year. It was Cal Crutchlow’s last appearance with LCR Honda as the rider bid farewell to MotoGP for a full-time test rider role next year.

ALSO READ  Police have a plan to tackle bullying

Also read: MotoGP: Marquez will not return until 2021, Bradl will continue with Honda for final races


Jack Miller finished second securing constructors’ standings for Ducati | Photo credit: Eurosport

Petronas SRT Yamaha’s Fabio Quartararo finished the race in 14th place, ending an interesting season for the rider. The disappointing finish also dropped him to eighth place in the final championship standings. Alex Rins on the Suzuki took the last point finishing 15th.


Danilo Petrucci on the Ducati finished out of points in 16th place, followed by Mika Kallio on the second Tech 3 KTM bike. Tito Rabat of Avintia Ducati took 17th place in his last MotoGP appearance. Apart from Mir, Brad Binder from KTM, Bagnaia from Pramac and Lorenzo Savadori from Aprilia were the other retirements from the Portuguese GP.

For the latest automotive news and reviews, follow on Twitter, Facebook and subscribe to our YouTube channel.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here