National Security Advisory Council: who are the members?


The National Security Advisory Council (NSAC) has been making headlines for the past three days over claims by Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners that it sought to interfere in the results of the August 9 presidential election.

Little known to many, the NSAC is the most powerful security body in Kenya recognized by the constitution. This has raised questions about the composition of its members and their roles.

The council is made up of powerful government officials who make crucial decisions about the safety of nearly 50 million TBEN.

Article 240(2) of the Kenyan Constitution states that the council is composed of the President, Vice President, Minister of Defense, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of the Interior and the coordination of the national government.

Interior Minister Fred Matiang’i addresses the press accompanied by PS Karanja Kibicho and IG Hillary Mutyambai on Friday, August 5, 2022.

ALSO READ  Smokin Wanjala Cross Explores Genesis of Chebukati, Cherera Row

Other key powerful members include the Attorney General, the Chief of the Armed Forces, the Director General of the National Intelligence Service (NIS), and the Inspector General of the National Police (NPS).

The nine-member body is charged with exercising superior control over national security and performs functions prescribed by national law.

According to Article 240(7), the Council submits its report to the National Assembly on the state of security in the country once a year.

Its duties go as far as deploying national troops outside Kenya for regional or international peace support operations, not to mention approving the deployment of foreign troops in Kenya, which the National Assembly must first agree to.

The Council appoints its own secretary and the chairman acts as chairman during the meeting. During the session, the Council integrates domestic, foreign and military policies related to national security to enable national security bodies to cooperate and function effectively.

ALSO READ  Susan Kihika's Ksh5M gift to patients during surprise hospital visit

They also assess and assess the country’s objectives, commitments and risks with regard to (potential) national security capabilities.

While NSAC members can be indicted separately as individuals, except for the president, it will be remembered in history that in August 2022, two IEBC commissioners were the first TBEN to embroil the Council in a court of law.

NSAC has filed its response to Commissioners Abdi Guliye and Boya Molu’s allegation that some of its members led by Kennedy Kihara – Chief Administrator at the President’s Office, Kennedy Ogeto (Attorney General), Inspector General of Police Hillary Mutyambai and Lieutenant General Francis Omondi Ogolla (Vice Chief of Defense Forces) stormed his office in Kenya’s National Tallying Center, Bomas, on Aug. 15 in an attempt to reverse the electoral gain of President-elect William Ruto.

ALSO READ  Karua speaks on Supreme Court case ahead of Monday's ruling

“It is our humble contention that the said allegations as set forth in the contested answer – 10 affidavits are unfounded and a total misrepresentation of the events of August 15, 2022. In order to ensure that the Honorable Court is able to determine the In order to establish real issues in controversy and to do justice to this case, it is imperative that the misconceptions created in the disputed response affidavits be corrected,” read part of the affidavit.

Public Service Chief and Cabinet Secretary Joseph Kinyua addresses a media briefing at Harambee House on the status of security in October 2020.

Public Service Chief and Cabinet Secretary Joseph Kinyua addresses a media briefing at Harambee House on the status of security in October 2020.

People daily