Oliveira wins home race in Portugal to close MotoGP season


Miguel Oliveira won the end-of-season MotoGP Portuguese Grand Prix at home on Sunday.

Oliveira took pole position for her second victory of the season, edging out Jack Miller and Franco Morbidelli.

“It’s unreal, you dream of these kinds of races and finally being able to win, it’s amazing,” said Oliveira. “It’s very special because my family couldn’t see my first win live, and they got to see it live here. An incredible day for me, very moving.

ALSO READ  Lewis Hamilton wins 7th Formula 1 Championship to equal Michael Schumacher's record

Oliveira claimed her first career MotoGP victory at the Austrian Styrian GP in August.

Joan Mir, who clinched his first world title last weekend, did not finish the race at the Algarve International Circuit due to an apparent mechanical problem.

Morbidelli finished the championship in second place, with Álex Rins third.

“A great way to end this championship, with a podium,” said Morbidelli. “Miguel was untouchable today.”

Sunday’s race gave Ducati its first constructors’ championship since 2007.

ALSO READ  Dronacharya awards: One player, several coaches

It was the last MotoGP race for Andrea Dovizioso, Cal Crutchlow and Tito Rabat. Valentino Rossi finished 15th in the championship in his last season with Yamaha. The Italian finished 12th in the end of season race.

Italian rider Enea Bastianini won the Moto2 title with a fifth place on Sunday, while Spaniard Albert Arenas won the Moto3 championship with a result in 12th place.

The MotoGP season has been shortened and its schedule has been severely altered due to the coronavirus pandemic, with all races outside of Europe being canceled.

ALSO READ  Champions XI vs Titans XI Dream11 prediction: Best picks for CPN XI vs TN XI in Andhra T20 2020

This year’s title race was wide open after six-time MotoGP champion Marc Márquez was sidelined with injury. There have been nine different winners in 14 races, with five first-time winners.

Morbidelli and Fabio Quartararo won the most races, with three each. Oliveira, 25, who started from pole for the first time in his career, was the only other two-time winner.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here