Pelosi appoints nine Democrats who will lead the impeachment effort.


President Nancy Pelosi on Tuesday named nine Democrats responsible for President Trump’s impeachment trial for instigating a violent mob of her supporters to storm the Capitol, where rioters ransacked the seat of the U.S. government and killed a police officer from the Capitol.

The nine directors, all lawyers, have expertise in constitutional law, civil rights and law enforcement. They will serve as new faces of the impeachment campaign after Americans got used last year to see Representatives Adam Schiff, Democrat of California and chairman of the Intelligence Committee, and Jerrold Nadler, Democrat of New York and chairman of the Judicial Commission, as leaders of Mr. Trump’s first impeachment trial.

The managers come from across the country and represent different ideological wings of the party. Of the nine, seven are people of color, LGBTQ or women.

ALSO READ  US sanctions Ukrainians linked to Giuliani for election misinformation

With Democrats in control of the House, Mr. Trump is likely to become the first US president to be impeached twice.

“It is their constitutional and patriotic duty to present the case for the impeachment and impeachment of the president,” Pelosi said of those responsible for the impeachment. “They will do so guided by their great love for the country, their determination to protect our democracy and their loyalty to our oath to the Constitution.”

Ms Pelosi has appointed Representative Jamie Raskin, a Maryland constitutional lawyer who drafted the impeachment article, as the senior director of Mr Trump’s trial. Mr. Raskin, who lost his 25-year-old son to suicide on New Year’s Eve and then survived the mob attack, is a professor of constitutional law at the Washington College of Law at the American University.

ALSO READ  Happy New Year

“I am honored to be part of a team of extremely distinguished lawyers and representatives,” said Mr. Raskin. “We have a huge responsibility on our shoulders right now.”

Others responsible for the indictment are: Representatives Diana DeGette of Colorado, a civil rights lawyer; David Cicilline of Rhode Island, former public defender; Joaquin Castro of Texas, a lawyer; Eric Swalwell of California, a former prosecutor; Ted Lieu of California, former Air Force officer and prosecutor; Stacey Plaskett of the Virgin Islands, a former prosecutor; Joe Neguse of Colorado, a lawyer; and Madeleine Dean of Pennsylvania, also a lawyer.

Most Democrats are expected to back Mr. Trump’s impeachment after spending weeks spreading unfounded lies about widespread voter fraud, then staging a large rally where he encouraged a crowd to march on Capitol Hill as he sought to pressure lawmakers to overturn the results of a democratic election. Four Republicans have announced that they too will vote to impeach the president.

ALSO READ  Jaime Harrison said he was chosen for the next DNC ​​chairman

Representative Liz Cheney of Wyoming, the Third House Republican, said on Tuesday that she would vote to impeach Mr. Trump, adding that there has “never been a greater betrayal by a President of the United States. United States ”than Mr. Trump’s incitement to the Mafia.

“Good for her for having honored her oath of office,” Pelosi said of Cheney, adding that she wished “more Republicans to honor their oaths.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here