Qatar time difference between UK and US: When are World Cup matches?

0
9

The 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup for men will take place in November and December in Qatar.

The tournament was moved to winter in the Northern Hemisphere from a traditional place on the early summer calendar due to the intense summer heat in the Arab nation.

It will be the first men’s World Cup to be held outside of May, June or July, and the second to be hosted entirely in Asia after the 2002 competition in Japan and South Korea.

The matches in Qatar will be held in a shortened period of just under a month, with the hosts opening the tournament against Ecuador on November 20.

The final will be held on December 18 at Lusail Stadium.

What time zone is Qatar in?

Qatar operates on Arabic Standard Time (AST, UTC+03:00).

What is the time difference between the United Kingdom and the United States?

So for those in the UK, Qatar is three hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT, UTC+00:00).

In the United States, the time difference is eight hours from Eastern Standard Time (EST, UTC -05:00), nine hours from Central Standard Time (CST, UTC -06:00), ten hours from Mountain Standard Time (MST , UTC -07:00) and eleven hours to Pacific Standard Time (PST, UTC -08:00).

What time do the matches start in Qatar?

For the first two rounds of the group stage, kick-off times are 13:00, 16:00, 19:00 and 22:00 AST (10:00, 13:00, 16:00, 19:00 GMT; 5:00, 8 :00am, 11am, 2pm EST).

The final round of competition in each group will start simultaneously – these will begin at 6:00 PM AST (3:00 PM GMT; 10:00 AM EST) and 10:00 PM AST (7:00 PM GMT; 2:00 PM EST). The knockout rounds also follow these times.

Group Stage Match Schedule (venue, kick-off time in Qatar, UK, Eastern US)

Sunday 20 Nov

Group A: Qatar vs Ecuador (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Monday Nov 21

Group B: England vs Iran (Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan; kick-off 4pm AST, 1pm GMT, 8am EST)

Group A: Senegal vs Netherlands (Al Thumama Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 7pm AST, 4pm GMT, 11am EST)

Group B: USA vs Wales (Ahmed bin Ali Stadium, Al Rayyan; Kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

ALSO READ  England players meet migrant workers who have built World Cup stadiums in Qatar

Tuesday Nov 22

Group C: Argentina vs Saudi Arabia (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; kickoff 1pm AST, 10am BST, 5am EST)

Group D: Denmark vs Tunisia (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 4pm AST, 1pm GMT, 8am EST)

Group C: Mexico vs Poland (Stadium 974, Doha; kickoff 7pm AST, 4pm GMT, 11am EST)

Group D: France vs Australia (Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Wednesday Nov 23

Group F: Morocco vs Croatia (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 1pm AST, 10am BST, 5am EST)

Group E: Germany vs Japan (Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 4pm AST, 1pm GMT, 8am EST)

Group E: Spain vs Costa Rica (Al Thumama Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 7pm AST, 4pm GMT, 11am EST)

Group F: Belgium vs Canada (Ahmed bin Ali Stadium, Al Rayyan; Kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Thursday 24 Nov

Group G: Switzerland vs Cameroon (Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah; kickoff 1pm AST, 10am BST, 5am EST)

Group H: Uruguay vs South Korea (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 4pm AST, 1pm GMT, 8am EST)

Group H: Portugal vs Ghana (Stadium 974, Doha; kickoff 7pm AST, 4pm GMT, 11am EST)

Group G: Brazil vs Serbia (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Friday Nov 25

Group B: Wales vs Iran (Ahmed bin Ali Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 1pm AST, 10am BST, 5am EST)

Group A: Qatar vs Senegal (Al Thumama Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 4pm AST, 1pm GMT, 8am EST)

Group A: Netherlands vs Ecuador (Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 7pm AST, 4pm GMT, 11am EST)

Group B: England vs USA (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kick off 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Saturday 26 Nov

Group C: Tunisia vs Australia (Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah; kickoff 1pm AST, 10am BST, 5am EST)

Group C: Poland vs Saudi Arabia (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 4pm AST, 1pm GMT, 8am EST)

Group D: France vs Denmark (Stadium 974, Doha; kickoff 7pm AST, 4pm GMT, 11am EST)

Group C: Argentina vs Mexico (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Sunday Nov 27

Group E: Japan vs Costa Rica (Ahmed bin Ali Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 1pm AST, 10am BST, 5am EST)

ALSO READ  Another £800m cut from UK foreign aid spending 'snuck away' by ministers

Group F: Belgium vs Morocco (Al Thumama Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 4pm AST, 1pm GMT, 8am EST)

Group F: Croatia vs Canada (Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 7pm AST, 4pm GMT, 11am EST)

Group E: Spain vs Germany (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Monday Nov 28

Group G: Cameroon vs Serbia (Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah; kickoff 1pm AST, 10am BST, 5am EST)

Group G: South Korea vs Ghana (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 4pm AST, 1pm GMT, 8am EST)

Group H: Brazil vs Switzerland (Stadium 974, Doha; kickoff 7pm AST, 4pm GMT, 11am EST)

Group H: Portugal vs Uruguay (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; Kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Tuesday Nov 29

Group A: Netherlands vs Qatar (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

Group A: Ecuador vs Senegal (Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

Group B: Wales vs England (Ahmed bin Ali Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Group B: Iran vs USA (Al Thumama Stadium, Al Khor; Kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Wednesday Nov 30

Group D: Australia vs Denmark (Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah; kick-off 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

Group D: Tunisia vs France (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

Group C: Poland vs Argentina (Stadium 974, Doha; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Group C: Saudi Arabia vs Mexico (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Thursday December 1

Group F: Croatia vs Belgium (Ahmed bin Ali Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

Group F: Canada vs Morocco (Al Thumama Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

Group E: Costa Rica vs Germany (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Group E: Japan vs Spain (Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Friday Dec 2

Group G: South Korea vs Portugal (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

Group G: Ghana vs Uruguay (Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah; kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

ALSO READ  Rishi Sunak refers to a U-turn on the ban on onshore wind farms

Group H: Serbia vs Switzerland (Stadium 974, Doha; Kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Group H: Cameroon vs Brazil (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Round of 16

Saturday December 3

49 – Group A winners vs. Group B runners-up (Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan; Kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

50 – Group C winners vs. Group D runners-up (Ahmed bin Ali Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Sunday December 4

52 – Group D winners vs. Group C runners-up (Al Thumama Stadium, Doha; kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

51 – Group B winners vs. Group A runners-up (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Monday 5 Dec

53 – Group E winners vs. Group F runners-up (Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah; kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

54 – Group G winners vs. Group H runners-up (Stage 974, Doha; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Tuesday December 6

55 – Group F winners vs. Group E runners-up (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

56 – Group H winners vs Group G runners-up (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Quarterfinals

Friday December 9

58 – Winners of 53 vs Winners of 54 (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; Kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

57 – Winners of 49 vs Winners of 50 (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Saturday December 10

60 – Winners of 55 vs Winners of 56 (Al Thumama Stadium, Doha; Kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

59 – Winners of 51 vs Winners of 52 (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; Kickoff 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Semi-finals

Tuesday December 13

61 – Winners of 57 vs Winners of 58 (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; kick off 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Wednesday December 14

62 – Winners of 59 vs Winners of 60 (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kick off 10pm AST, 7pm GMT, 2pm EST)

Saturday December 17

63 – Playoff for Third Place (Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan; Kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)

Last

Sunday December 18

64 – The World Cup Finals (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; Kickoff 6pm AST, 3pm GMT, 10am EST)