Rajasthan Royals skipper David Miller owned Paarl Royals in SA20 League


Proteas batsman David Miller has been named captain of the Rajasthan Royals-owned Paarl Royals for the inaugural season of SA20 South Africa’s T20 national competition, which is expected to kick off in January 2023.

Miller was brought into the franchise in August along with Jos Buttler, Obed McCoy and Corbin Bosch. All four players have previously worked with the owners, having traded for Rajasthan Royals in the IPL. Miller is also part of the Barbados Royals – which was acquired by the franchise in the CPL in 2021 and was named skipper ahead of the 2022 season.

ALSO READ  BCCI Reveals Why Arshdeep Singh Rests For Aus T20Is While Hardik Pandya & Bhuvneshwar Kumar Rests For SA T20Is
David Miller PC-BCCI

David Miller excited about the number of players in Paarl Royals

After being named captain, the 33-year-old said: “I am extremely proud to be appointed captain of the Paarl Royals. It gives me great joy to call it my home. The people of Paarl and the Western Cape as a whole are great supporters of quality and entertaining cricket, and my ambition is to lead the team in the right way and give our fans countless memories to cheer their team up.”

ALSO READ  "It could have been me that day instead of him": Ravi Bishnoi on Arshdeep Singh's dropped catch against Pakistan
David Miller (Image Credit: Twitter)
David Miller (Image Credit: Twitter)

“We already have some top cricketers on board, such as Jos, Obed and Corbin, and I look forward to working with an exciting group of players to start this SA20 journey,” Miller added.

David Miller currently wears the captain’s armband for the Barbados Royals in CPL

In the ongoing CPL, Barbados Royals led by David Miller currently top the points tally with six wins in seven games. The reckless southpaw has scored 166 runs so far with an impressive success rate of 155.14.

ALSO READ  'Bowlers must keep their foot behind the line, same for batters': Tabraiz Shamsi on Deepti Sharma-Charlotte Dean Saga
David Miller (Image Credit: Twitter)
David Miller (Image Credit: Twitter)

The SA20 auction will take place on September 19 in Cape Town. The franchises have an allotted total purse value of USD 2 million and can buy as many players, up to the maximum limit of 17. The money available to them at the auction will be based on what is left of the wallet after the pre-auction signings.