Results of the 2021 Gujarat municipal elections: the BJP is cleaning up; AAP, AIMIM make gains, Congress collapses – Politics News, The Bharat Express News


Congress, the main opposition party, won only 55 seats in the 6 local bodies. He won 176 seats in the 2016 election

The BJP swept the elections for six municipal corporations in Gujarat on Tuesday, winning 483 out of 576 seats, while Congress, the state’s main opposition party, lost considerable ground to new entrants Aam Aadmi Party and All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen.

The ruling party retained power in the state’s six municipal corporations – Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Jamnagar and Bhavnagar. The ballot took place on February 21.

Congress has been criticized for winning only 55 seats and failing to even open its account in Surat.

On the other hand, the AAP put on an impressive show by winning 27 seats, all in Surat, and establishing itself as the main opposition within the Surat Municipal Corporation.

The PAA had for the first time presented 470 candidates in the six companies. The BJP won 159 out of 192 seats in Ahmedabad, 68 out of 72 seats in Rajkot, 50 out of 64 seats in Jamnagar, 44 out of 52 seats in Bhavnagar, 69 out of 76 seats in Vadodara and 93 out of 120 seats in Surat.

Congress, on the other hand, won single-digit seats in three companies and drew a blank in Surat. The party won 25 seats in Ahmedabad, four in Rajkot,
11 in Jamnagar, 8 in Bhavnagar and 7 in Vadodara.

Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM, who also challenged local polls for the first time in Gujarat, won seven seats in the Muslim-dominated Jamalpur and Maktampura neighborhoods of Ahmedabad.

ALSO READ  'You have challenged the BJP': Kejriwal to newly elected AAP corporators in Surat

Three candidates from the Bahujan Samaj party won in Jamnagar, while one independent candidate won only in Ahmedabad.

A total of 192 seats in Ahmedabad, 72 in Rajkot, 64 in Jamnagar, 52 in Bhavnagar, 76 in Vadodara and 120 in Surat were up for grabs.

The BJP won 389 seats and Congress 176 in these six municipal corporations in the 2016 elections. The Saffron Party won 94 seats while Congress lost
121 seats this time.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday called the victory “very special” and said that for a party which has served in a state for more than two decades, it should be noted such a phenomenal victory.

He said the results of the municipal elections clearly show the unwavering faith of the people in development policies and good governance.

Interior Minister Amit Shah said: “The results of municipal business surveys show that Gujarat has once again established itself as the stronghold of the BJP. The BJP continues to carry out the ‘vikas yatra’ started under the leadership of Modi Ji. Today’s results are one of the best results in Gujarat. “

ALSO READ  Rahul Gandhi addresses farmers' gatherings in Rajasthan, to visit Ajmer and Nagaur districts tomorrow - Politics News, The Bharat Express News

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and Chief Deputy Minister Nitin Patel expressed their gratitude to voters and BJP workers for the results.

“The great victory of the Bharatiya Janata party in the elections of six municipal corporations is the victory of the people of Gujarat.” This is a great victory for the development policy launched by the Honorable Prime Minister @narendramodi, “Rupani tweeted in Gujarati.

The people of Gujarat have provided “a topic” for political analysts who can study how the concept of anti-titular does not apply in the state, he said.

“Many thanks and congratulations to all the winning candidates, BJP officials, workers and voters in Gujarat for the glorious victory of the Bharatiya Janata party in the elections,” Nitin Patel tweeted.

Celebrations were also underway in the AAP camp.

Delhi Chief Minister and AAP organizer Arvind Kejriwal has announced that he will hold a road show on February 26 in Surat, where his party has made impressive gains in the population polls.

In a Hindi tweet, party leader Aam Aadmi (AAP) thanked the people of Gujarat for ushering in an era of “new politics” in the state.

He added that the people of Gujarat voted for the labor policy because they are fed up with the politics of the BJP and Congress.

“The people of Gujarat wanted an alternative and the AAP has emerged as a key alternative to the current parties. From now on, the next assembly elections will be held between the Aam Aadmi party and the BJP,” the chief minister said.

ALSO READ  Narendra Modi's speech to Lok Sabha: 'Andolanjeevis' pollutes outright motives of protesting farmers, PM says - Politics News, The Bharat Express News

His deputy, Manish Sisodia, also took to Twitter, saying: “The kind of love and support that the people of Gujarat have shown, a big thank you to every voter. We will all work together for ‘kam ki rajneeti‘(labor policy). “

“We will be raising public issues in the streets as well as in the Assembly. The people of Surat have done a great job. The people of Gujarat are angry with the BJP, they do not trust Congress and the Aam Aadmi party has become their only hope, ”he said in a statement.

AIMIM President Asaduddin Owaisi spoke at a public meeting in Godhra and Modasa, Gujarat.

Meanwhile, there was no official statement from the national leadership of Congress at the time of writing.

Earlier today, congressional officials stormed the Surat counting center, according to News18 Gujarat. The party alleged that the seals of the EVM machines had been broken at 26 Godadra Dindoli neighborhood in Surat. It was also alleged that the machines were replaced.

In another incident, congressional workers, angry with the party for not winning a single seat in Surat, created a ruckus at the city office. They burned the effigies of the heads of the congressional towns Babu Raika and Kadir Pirzada, News18 reported.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro at ₹ 499 for the first year. Use code PRO499. Limited time offer. * T & C apply


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here