Senate approves Azimio’s last-minute changes to PSC committee


The Senate passed a minority wing motion on Wednesday, Nov. 9 to change the National Assembly’s motion to approve a list bearing the name of Senator Fatuma Dullo.

Azimio coalition replaced Senator Dullo with her Nyamira counterpart Okong’o Omogeni as a candidate for the powerful parliamentary service committee.

Steward Madzayo, the minority leader, proposed the amendment motion, which passed unanimously by the House.

“I propose that the motion be amended to delete the name of Senator Fatuma Dullo and replace it with the name of Hon Erick Okong’o Omogeni, senior counsel,” Madzayo said.

ALSO READ  Gachagua steps in to fulfill John Michuki's dream

Kilifi Senator Stewart Madzayo Addresses the Media in Kilifi County in 2019


Madzayo said he had written to the speaker to ignore a letter he had received from other members nominating Dullo to the Commission.

“In all letters that come from the minority, I am the authority. Unfortunately, this was not to be and another letter was written leading to that appointment (from Dullo),” he confirmed.

While supporting the motion, Kitui senator and deputy minority leader Enoch Wambua stated that Madzayo was the authority for the minority wing and that his letter drowned out others.

ALSO READ  Speed ​​cameras introduced on Nairobi Expressway

The amendment means the motion goes back to the National Assembly for approval.

Siaya Senator Oburu Odinga and Sirisia Legislator John Waluke missed out on the PSC slots even after being previously nominated.

Waluke’s woes escalated after he was sentenced to 67 years in prison in a corruption case involving the National Cereals and Produce Board – NCPB.

Anniversary Secretary General Jeremiah Kioni presented the nomination to the controversial lawmaker at Industrial Area Remand Prison.

ALSO READ  Family screams for justice after son's death during ongoing police crackdown

Narok Senator Ledama Ole Kina was expected to take over the minority whip role, while Omogeni would replace him.

The Parliamentary Service Committee consists of the Speaker of the National Assembly, as chairman, seven members appointed by Parliament, and a woman and a man appointed by Parliament from persons who have experience in public affairs but are not Members of Parliament.

Senate Clerk Jeremiah Nyegenye is the Secretary of the Commission.

Isiolo County Senator Fatuma Dullo in a rally

Isiolo County Senator-elect Fatuma Dullo in a rally