Shai Hope and Brother Kyle Test Positive for Coronavirus | Cricket News


West Indies drummer Shai Hope and his brother Kyle Hope have been banned from the upcoming Super50 Cup after testing positive for the coronavirus. Cricket West Indies (CWI) has announced the return of over-50 regional cricket to the Caribbean, with matches in the rescheduled Super50 Cup to be played in Antigua in February. “The results were released after the first tests completed by the Barbados Pride team and management on Sunday. Shai and Kyle Hope will be placed in segregation in accordance with Barbados government protocols,” said a statement from Barbados Cricket. Association.

The duo were replaced in the 15-man squad by wicket keeper / batsman Tevyn Walcott and first-class batsman Zachary McCaskie. Both should immediately undergo the required tests and protocols.

ALSO READ  Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Siddharth Kaul and Prabhsimran Singh help Punjab defeat Karnataka in defense to reach the semi-finals | Cricket News

This year’s annual Super50 Cup will provide a platform for the region’s six main cricket rivals to compete in nineteen 50-game matches starting on February 7, when hurricanes on the Leeward Islands welcome the volcanoes of the Windward Islands. The Barbados team are due to leave for Antigua on Sunday.

Each team will compete on a round robin basis, with the top four teams advancing to the semi-finals and the opportunity to advance to the final. The tournament finals will be played on February 27.

ALSO READ  IND vs ENG, 3rd test: Joe Root impressed by the “phenomenal” Motera stadium, feels that the atmosphere will be electric | Cricket News


The Super50 Cup is the 50th anniversary flagship event in the West Indies featuring the six longtime territorial rivals – Barbados Pride, Guyana Jaguars, Jamaica Scorpions, Leeward Islands Hurricanes, Trinidad and Tobago Red Force and the volcanoes of the Windward Islands.

The Barbados Pride team: Jason Holder (captain), Joshua Bishop, Shamarh Brooks, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Dominic Drakes, Jonathan Drakes, Justin Greaves, Keon Harding, Chemar Holder, Akeem Jordan, Nicholas Kirton, Zachary McCaskie, Ashley Nurse, Tevyn Walcott.

ALSO READ  IND vs ENG: England recalls Jonny Bairstow, Mark Wood for pink ball test; Moeen Ali to return | Cricket News

Topics mentioned in this article