Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Virat Singh’s undefeated tone shoots the Jharkhand to defeat Assam | Cricket News


Virat Singh broke 12 borders and 3 sixes on his way to his hundred.© BCCI

Jharkhand recorded his first Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy victory on the back of the undefeated Century of Virat Singh at the University of Jadavpur Second Campus on Thursday. Jharkhand beat Assam by 51 points in a one-sided affair despite losing their first batsman to first. Choosing to beat first, Jharkhand rolled out Virat’s 103 not on 53 balls with Saurabh Tiwary’s 57 to score a 233/3 mammoth while Assam also fired back with Riyan Parag 67’s 38 balls but in the end were limited to 182/7.


Hitting first, Jharkhand suffered an early shake as he lost first Anand Singh on the second ball of the match. Virat then sewn 81 and a 114-sleeve partnership with skipper Ishan (24) and Saurabh to put a huge total on board.

ALSO READ  Sourav Ganguly stable, doctors constantly monitor his health | Cricket News

Virat smashed 12 limits and 3 sixes en route to his cent while Kumar Deobrat played a 12-ball 31 quickfire.

While chasing Assam, they also lost their first match, Rishav Das, while Pallavkumar Das (46) and Riyan fought to try to pull off a shock, but were unable to succeed in the face of a disciplined attack in the Jharkhand bowling alley. Monu Kumar pocketed 3 wickets for the winning team.

ALSO READ  AUS vs IND: Matthew Wade says Australia "expects" to play 4th test in Brisbane | Cricket News

Meanwhile, Bengal are undefeated in the flagship event and will look to win their third meeting, when they see the horns with Hyderabad in their third game of the tournament later Thursday.


Bengal got the better of Jharkhand on Tuesday when an undefeated chic young girl of Vivek Singh’s century in the shortest format secured full points for her team at Eden Gardens.

ALSO READ  ICC Awards 2020: Ellyse Perry sweeps the female ODI, T20I and player of the decade

Hitting the first Bengal made 161 for six. Needing 162 to win, Jharkhand finished 145 for 9, giving the Bengal a 16-point victory.

Topics mentioned in this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here