T20 World Cup 2022: India’s 4 standby players Shami, Chahar, Bishnoi, Iyer to Australia with team


India announced their 15-man roster for the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup to be held in Australia on September 12. Mohammed Shami, Deepak Chahar, Shreyas Iyer and leg spinner Ravi Bishnoi have been named as standby players.

According to Cricbuzz, the selection committee, team management and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have decided that four standbys will fly with the team to Australia and will be available to join the team at any time. If one of the fast bowlers in the 15-man squad has a problem, players like Shami and Chahar will be available for selection.

ALSO READ  SAP vs EME Dream11 Prediction, Fantasy Cricket Tips, Dream11 Team, Playing XI, Pitch Report, Injury Update - KCA Women's T20 Challengers
Image Credits: Twitter

Notably, pacers Arshdeep Singh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and all-rounder Hardik Pandya, have been asked to report to the National Cricket Academy (NCA) for conditioning work during the home series against Australia and South Africa.

There has been much debate about Mohammed Shami’s exclusion from the main squad, but he last played a T20I match at the 2021 T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates. The fast right-armed bowler took six wickets for 140 runs in five matches, with an economy of 8.84. However, he performed well in IPL 2022.

ALSO READ  Ravi Bishnoi is one such candidate who can play all three formats and do well for India - Saba Karim

India squad for T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice Captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah , Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players – Moh. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

The Indian team will travel to Australia on October 6 after the final T20i at home against South Africa in Indore on October 4. The World Cup will be held in Australia from October 16 to November 13. India’s first game is against Pakistan on October 23, but the team has two warm-up games, one against Australia and one against New Zealand.

ALSO READ  ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Major injury scare for India as Deepak Hooda has back injury ahead of marquee event

Also Read: County Championship: Middlesex’s Umesh Yadav banned from rest of tournament due to injury


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here