‘The Gabba Conquerors’: Ravi Shastri, Ajinkya Rahane, Shardul Thakur Honored at MCA Awards


Indian cricketers Shardul Thakur and Ajinkya Rahane, as well as former head coach Ravi Shastri, were honored at the annual Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) Awards on Friday at the BKC Club in Mumbai. They were part of the Indian side that defeated Australia in the four-match Test series at Brisbane’s historic venue ‘The Gabba’ to win the 2020-21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

MCA’s Instagram page took to Instagram to share the photo of the trio receiving their award. “The Gabba Conquerors,” read the caption of the story posted by MCA.

Notably, the Indian squad suffered ten injuries during the Border-Gavaskar series, and regular skipper Virat Kohli pulled out after the first test match to attend the birth of his first child.

ALSO READ  Under-19 Women's T20 World Cup: Squads, venues, format, match times in IST - Everything you need to know

India suffered a crushing defeat in the first Test in Adelaide. The visitors scored 36 runs in the second innings as Australia destroyed them by an 8-wicket margin.

It was followed by a remarkable comeback at Melbourne Cricket Ground where deputy skipper Ajnikya Rahane scored a brave century in the first innings leading to India’s 8 wicket win.

The third test match in Sydney was a draw and it all came down to The Gabba where Australia were unbeaten for 32 years.

ALSO READ  IND vs SL 3rd ODI: Predicted Play XI, Live Streaming, Weather & Pitch Report

In the fourth and final test at Gabba, India got a target of 329 to win the test match. India didn’t even need to win; a draw was enough to retain the series championship as the current holders.

However, on the last day of the final test, India batted with strategy and completed with three overs left to secure a win that would be long remembered.

Shardul Thakur made an excellent all-round effort, hitting 67 and 2 with the bat and taking 3/94 and 4/61 with the ball. As India struggled at 186/6 in the first innings, he put up a 123-run seventh wicket stand with Washington Sundar (62).

ALSO READ  IND vs SL ODI Series 2023: Full Schedule, Squads, Venue, Live Streaming Details & More

Rahane, who captained the side in the absence of Virat Kohli, also scored 37 and 24. During this historic run, Ravi Shastri was the head coach of India. Notably, India will defend the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in a four-match series starting at home on February 9.

READ| IND vs SL 3rd T20I: Suryakumar Yadav Joins Rohit Sharma In Elusive List Of Stunning Century In Rajkot