Transfer officials published in districts of origin: electoral body to states linked to the poll


Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh will soon go to the elections.

New Delhi:

As the five-state Assembly elections approached early next year, the Election Commission (EC) has ordered the governments of Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh to transfer officials serving in their home districts and those who have spent three years in a district in the past four years.

ALSO READ  Supreme Court condemns government for "laxity" in 19-year-old dating case

In a letter to chief secretaries and returning officers in states linked to the poll on Wednesday, the commission pointed out that the terms of the legislative assemblies of Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa end on different dates in March. 2022. Uttar Pradesh’s assembly term ends on May 14 of next year.

It is customary for the Election Panel to issue such instructions prior to Lok Sabha or Assembly elections to ensure that officials do not interfere in any way with the electoral process and that democratic exercise remains free and fair.

ALSO READ  India attacks China, rejects new allegations of conflict in eastern Ladakh

“The Commission further wishes that no officer / civil servant, against whom a criminal case is pending in court, will be associated / deployed on the basis of the elections,” the letter said.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here