Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021: Mumbai Straddles Shreyas Iyer’s Tonne To Defeat Maharashtra By Six Wickets | Cricket News


Mumbai rode on unbeaten 103 skipper Shreyas Iyer to beat Maharashtra by six wickets in their elite group D Vijay Hazare Trophy match on Tuesday. It was Mumbai’s second consecutive victory after beating Delhi in the lung opening. Choosing to beat first, Maharashtra posted 279/9, with centuries of Yash Nahar (119) and Azim Kazi (104) despite the experience of Mumbai pacemaker Dhawal Kulkarni (5/44) crossing his first order . But it was Iyer, who anchored the Mumbai pursuit and saw them at home in 47.2 overs.

Maharashtra skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad (19) was unable to convert his start and was trapped in front of the wicket by Kulkarni. Kulkarni then wreaked havoc by brushing aside Naushad Shaikh (0), experimenting with Kedar Jadhav (5) and Ankit Bawane (0) in quick succession as Maharashtra was in shock at 38/4 in 8.5 overs.

ALSO READ  IND vs ENG: 161 point hit on 2nd test was quite satisfying, says Rohit Sharma

However, Nahar and number six batsman Kazi had other plans and they not only pulled the team out of boredom, but got them into a decent position with their 214 run-stand for the fifth wicket.

Nahar hit seven fours and six maximums in his 133 balls, while Kazi played the perfect second fiddle, as the duo faced off against Mumbai bowlers led by Indian speedster Shardul Thakur (1/57), who played the game. after being released from India. team.

Kazi hammered 12 limits and two sixes in his 118-ball innings.

ALSO READ  Bangladesh vs West Indies: Alternate captain Kraigg Brathwaite ends 2-0 series sweep with 17-point win

When Nahar was knocked out by Shams Mulani, Maharashtra was balanced at 6/264 and then could only add 15 points.

Chasing 280, Mumbai openers Yashasvi Jaiswal (40) and Prithvi Shaw (34) conjure 67 for the opening wicket.

Iyer, who entered at age three, was in his elements and hammered nine limits and a six, in his undefeated shot and after Jaiswal’s death he found capable partners in Suryakumar Yadav (29), Shivam Dube (47 ) as they performed their roles to perfection.

Dube took the game away from Maharashtra, with his shot, smashing five fours and a six, and took Mumbai on the verge of winning. The formalities were completed by Iyer alongside Sarfaraz Khan (15 not released).

ALSO READ  National Shooting Selection Trials: Elavenil Valarivan Breaks Apurvi Chandela World Record | Filming news

Brief scores:

Maharashtra 279/9 (Yash Nahar 119, Azim Kazi 104; Dhawal Kulkarni 5/44, Shardul Thakur 1/57) lost to Mumbai 280/4 (Shreyas Iyer 103 not released, Shivam Dube 47; Satyajeet Bachhav 3/59) by six counters.


Delhi 354/4 (Nitish Rana 137, Dhruv Shorey 132; Sagar Trivedi 2/66) defeated Pondicherry 175 (S Suresh Kumar 42; Kulwant Khejroliya 4/32, Pradeep Sangwan 2/27) by 179 points.

Rajasthan 199 (Mahipal Lomror 67, Arjit Gupta 45; Rishi Dhawan 6/27, Vaibhav Arora 1/24) lost to Himachal Pradesh 201/6 (Rishi Dhawan 73 not released, Prashant Chopra 39; A Singh 2/46, Ravi Bishnoi 2/60) by four counters.

Topics mentioned in this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here