Vijay Rupani’s Burden of Failure on PM Modi: Congress


Randeep Surjewala said that in Gujarat it is Vijay Rupani against PM Modi and Amit Shah.

New Delhi:

Congress said on Saturday that Vijay Rupani’s failure as chief minister of Gujarat fell to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his leaders.

Shortly after Mr. Rupani’s resignation, chief congressional spokesperson Randeep Surjewala asserted that there were deep-seated internal struggles in all of the BJP-ruled states, including the State of origin of the Prime Minister, Gujarat.

“Two things stand out today – deep-seated internal struggles in every state ruled by the BJP, be it Gujarat, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Assam or Haryana. Bhakt’s media remain oblivious to the fratricidal wars in the BJP because their only mandate is to focus on states ruled by the opposition, ”he said on Twitter.

ALSO READ  Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa and Brahm Mohindra to take oath as Deputy CM of Punjab

“This shows the failure of the leadership of the Prime Minister and the Minister of the Interior. If their anointed chief minister Vijay Rupani has failed in Gujarat and its people after five years, the responsibility must lie at the gates of Modiji,” he said. Mr. Surjewala also said using the hashtag “VijayRupani resigns”

The Congress leader said it was time to rid Gandhi-Patel’s “Karambhoomi” of the “Machiavellian BJP and its leadership”.

ALSO READ  "Jealous": Swipe by Mamata Banerjee after Center's "No" meeting in Rome

Mr. Surjewala also dubbed the BJP as the “Bhayanak jhagda party” and cited examples of internal party struggles in several states.

In Uttar Pradesh he claimed it was Yogi against Modi while in Rajasthan it was Vasundhara Raje against Modi and in Karnataka BS Yediyurappa against PM Modi.

He also alleged that in Gujarat it is Mr. Rupani against PM Modi and Amit Shah.

ALSO READ  Naga group invited to Delhi to continue talks, says Nagaland chief minister

Earlier today, Mr. Rupani resigned his post, more than a year before the state went to the polls.

It is unclear what motivated the development in Prime Minister Modi’s home state where elections to the 182-member assembly are slated for December 2022.

Mr. Rupani (65) was sworn in as Chief Minister in December 2017. This was his second term. He became Chief Prime Minister on August 7, 2016, following the resignation of outgoing President Anandiben Patel.