West Bengal Assembly election 2021, Goalpokhar profile: TMC’s Mohammed Gulam Rabbani seeks third consecutive victory – Politics News, The Bharat Express News


Representative image. TBEN

The Assembly / Vidhan Sabha constituency of Goalpokhar is located in the Uttar Dinajpur district of West Bengal. It falls under the constituency of Raiganj Lok Sabha.

The constituency has 2,590 voters and 224 voting booths.

Results of past elections and winners
In the West Bengal Legislative Assembly election in 2016, Mohammed Gulam Rabbani of the Trinamool Congress won the seat of the Goalpokhar Assembly.

ALSO READ  Live Parliament Updates: Lok Sabha to Meet Soon; 27 bills earlier allowed to be re-tabled in LS - Politics News, The Bharat Express News

Rabbani won a seat in the 2011 Assembly polls on a Congress ticket.

The seat was occupied by the leaders of the All India Forward Bloc between 1977 and 2011, except in 2006 when Congressman Deepa Dasmunsi emerged victorious from Goalpokhar.

The turnout for the 2016 Assembly polls in Goalpokhar was 74.38%.

According to the 2011 census estimates, out of a total of 3,26,120 inhabitants, 98.18 percent are rural and 1.82 percent are urban.

ALSO READ  Farmers protesting blockade of Delhi border cause 'inconvenience' to people, center tells Rajya Sabha

The constituency of the Goalpokhar Assembly is expected to go to the polls in April or May 2021, as part of the 2021 West Bengal Assembly elections.

The West Bengal Assembly ballot will be held to elect a total of 294 members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA).

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro at ₹ 499 for the first year. Use code PRO499. Limited time offer. * T & C apply


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here