West Bengal Assembly election 2021, Kalchini profile: Wilson Champramary of TMC seeks re-election for third term – Politics News, The Bharat Express News


The turnout in Kalchini in the previous Assembly election was 81.45%

The Assembly / Vidhan Sabha constituency of Kalchini is located in the Jalpaiguri district of West Bengal. It falls under the constituency of Alipuardar (ST) Lok Sabha.

The constituency, reserved for candidates from the listed tribes, has 2,349,969 voters and 264 polling stations.

Electoral participation in previous elections

The turnout in Kalchini in the previous Assembly election was 81.45%.

ALSO READ  Punjab Municipal Elections 2021 Live Updates: Ongoing survey for 117 urban local governments; 9,222 candidates in melee - Politics News, The Bharat Express News

Results of past elections and winners

In the 2016 West Bengal Assembly election, Wilson Champramary of the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) won the Kalchini seat. The seat was occupied by Congress and the RSP between 1977 and 2011.

Independent candidate Wilson Champramary won the seat with 46,455 votes in the 2011 Assembly elections and defeated Binay Bhusan Kerketta of the RSP by a margin of 7,245 votes.

ALSO READ  Modi quotes Manmohan Singh on farm laws: Congress' insistence on 'total repeal' makes defense of past positions untenable

According to the 2011 census estimates, out of a total of 3,29,098 inhabitants, 73.67% are rural and 26.33% urban.

The Boundaries Commission of India recommended in 2008 that the segment of the Kalchini Assembly include the Kalchini community development block and the Majherdabri gram panchayat community development block of Alipurduar-II.

The Kalchini Assembly constituency is expected to go to the polls in April or May 2021, as part of the 2021 West Bengal Assembly elections.

ALSO READ  West Bengal Assembly election 2021, Goalpokhar profile: TMC's Mohammed Gulam Rabbani seeks third consecutive victory - Politics News, The Bharat Express News

The West Bengal Assembly ballot will be held to elect a total of 294 members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA).

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro at ₹ 499 for the first year. Use code PRO499. Limited time offer. * T & C apply


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here