WTC points table: How loss to South Africa cut India’s chances at World Test Championship | Cricket News


India’s 7-wicket loss to South Africa in the Third Test at Newlands in Cape Town not only put their dream of winning a Test series against the Proteas away from home but also hampered their progress in the World Test Championship (WTC). India slipped to fifth in the latest WTC points table after the Virat Kohli-led side lost the three-game series to South Africa 1-2 on Friday. South Africa, on the other hand, moved up to fourth place with the crucial victory.

India played nine Tests in the second round of the WTC, winning four, losing three and drawing two. Despite having won the most Tests of any team so far in the WTC cycle, India is fifth as its PCT (percentage of points won) is lower than that of Sri Lanka, India. Australia, Pakistan and South Africa.

ALSO READ  IND vs WI: Ahmedabad to host India's ODI series against West Indies, T20 to be held in Kolkata | Cricket News

India’s PCT is now down to 49.07 from 55.21. India also lost three points due to a slow overvaluation.

Sri Lanka top the table after two wins in two games. With victory in the last two tests against India, South Africa improved their PCT to 66.66.

WTC points table update

Australia, who lead the Ashes 3-0 against England, sit in second place with a PCT of 83.33.

Pakistan is at No. 3 with a PCT of 75.00.

The top two teams will qualify for the WTC Finals at the end of the cycle. In the previous edition, India faced New Zealand in the final, won by the latter.

ALSO READ  'The plans are set': Venkatesh Iyer on his approach as India's full expert on ODIs from South Africa | Cricket news

ICC had made a host of changes to the WTC points system after the first edition. According to the new rules, the number of test wins and series wins does not determine the ranking, but the percentage of points earned (PCT). This was done to eliminate the disparity in the number of Tests each team is expected to play in the WTC cycle.


Each team is to play six series – three home and three away – but as the number of Tests in these series varies for each team, ICC offered PCT.

Under the new system, a team can earn 12 points with a test win, six points are reserved for a tie, and in the event of a tie, both teams get four points each. One point is deducted for each overrun by a team that does not reach the mandatory overrun rate.

ALSO READ  Sachin Tendulkar not in League of Legends cricket: SRT Sports Management | Cricket news

This is how the PCT is calculated in the WTC

India has so far played nine Tests at the WTC. The maximum number of WTC points they could have won was 108 (9*12) if they had won them all, but they won four, drew two, bringing their total to 56. Three points went were deducted as they were three overs away from the mandatory surcharge. India currently has 53 WTC points. Therefore, their PCT is 49.07, which ultimately determines the position.

Topics discussed in this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here